St. Fidelis of Sigmaringen

image

I tend to be a woman of ideas. Some of them are even good ideas. But there are always a lot of them, far more than any one woman could realistically accomplish in several lifetimes. So the cycle tends to go something like this: bright, shiny idea, followed by excited planning/ gathering resources, the inevitable intrusion of harsh reality, and one more really cool project shelved indefinitely.   This would be really frustrating and depressing, except sometimes, in an awesome twist of redeeming fate (kinda like Easter itself, come to think of it) the story doesn’t end there.

image

About three years ago I had a really great idea. I read an article about using Rit dye to color Easter eggs (not ones you’re going to eat, obviously). I found the idea intriguing, and the colors you could get enchanting, and decided I was going to make a bunch for decorations and to give away. I bought several colors of fabric dye, blew a couple dozen eggs, and thought deeply about how I was going to string my eggs to hang them. Then I ran out of time,  Easter came and went, and the  cartons of blown eggs got packed away with the bottles of dye in an obscure corner of the craft room.

image

Two years ago I was too busy helping open a hospital to do any Easter crafts, but last spring I got bit by the egg decorating bug again. This time the trigger was pictures of eggs gorgeously painted with craft paints. So I took a wander down the craft paint aisle, bought a few colors and some brushes, and started planning all over again. However,  since I didn’t start painting until the afternoon of Easter Sunday, I didn’t get very far.

image

This year, I decided to mash up several tutorials to come up with something my own. I dug through the craft room until I found the old bag of eggs and dye (only briefly distracted by playing with organizing my fabric), and set to work. This time I wasn’t interested in making something merely decorative, I wanted to make something to delight my nieces.

image

So I took my cascarona eggs, dyed them rich colors with the Rit dye, and then made tiny pom pom bunnies to stuff inside.

image

It turned out awfully cute. Don’t let The Little Philosopher’s serious face mislead you. She was newly woken up from a nap, and wasn’t awake enough yet to smile.

image

And just like that, the Easter craft four years in the making found its happy ending.  Which makes me happy too. And speaking of happy…

image

It turns out that Jr (Sweet Pea’s baby brother, and yes, he finally has a nickname) has the most ridiculous dimples! This was taken right after he’d had his diaper changed, laying on top of the washer in the bathroom off the kitchen (where Mom changed all her babies), while Sae cooed at him and tickled his tummy.

image

Apparently he really likes that.

On the medical front, one friend suggested that, since I’m not comfortable going into depth about the side effects I’m experiencing, maybe whenever I post I could just tell you about one.  That way I’m not avoiding the subject (and possibly not posting at all), but also not letting it get overwhelming. This seemed sensible to me, and I thought I’d give it a try.

My first Side Effect Of The Post is hip joint pain. Joint and muscle pain, particularly near the injection site, is common with this drug. My ER nurse friend was going into a little too much detail about how this was because this kind of drug is so corrosive, not something I want to think about in the context of my own body. But even over a month later, I can still tell you exactly where the first shot went in, and it still hurts.

Hopefully the hip joint pain will go away once the drug clears my system. If the pain gets truly unbearable, my doctor can prescribe more powerful pain killers. However, if I’m on those, I can’t be at work, and thankfully I’m not there yet (and might ever be, which would be awesome). In the meantime, I walk a little funny on occasion, and keep the ibuprofen bottle nearby.

35 days til surgery!

And, um, Happy Easter!