Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

St. Patrick

My dears, there is too much news to tell, none of it is all that much fun, and I’m trying to give up negative thinking for Lent.  So let’s look at some pretty things, and I swear I’ll fill you in later on all the Murphy’s Law ridiculousness that’s been going on the last few weeks.  Deal?  Deal.

Needle Felted Clam

Needle Felted Clam Pincushion by IguanaMakeIt

This, my dears, is my most recent Christmas present.  Yes, I know halfway through March is a bit late for Christmas presents.  However, in this case, it’s a good thing.  You see, this past Christmas, I got a regular treasure trove of presents from Lucy and The Auteur.  Wine glasses, a movie I adore, a post-it note that’s still taped up on my closet wall, and then to top it all off, a gift card for Etsy.

It was an embarrassment of riches.  And suddenly, although I have over 1000 items on my Etsy Favorites list, now that I could actually get something I was seized with indecision.  Should I spend my lovely gift card on crafting supplies, like gorgeously colored 100% wool felt, or would a new purse be more useful?  Maybe I should be practical, and get a cute project bag made from matryoshka print fabric, or waterproof fabric to sole the shoes I’m totally going to sew for myself any day now, or pretty washi tape to … I dunno, be pretty.  On the other hand, maybe I should go for something frivolous and fun, the kind of thing that would make me smile every time I saw it, like swing dancing flamingos, or a silly print to hang on my wall, or a really cute egg cup.  And then there were the Things of Beauty, like these delicate seed pearl earrings, or embroidered lace that makes me think of bright summer days, or a moonrise print that makes me think of Jacob.  Or maybe I should just finally buy the St. Walter of Pontoise medal (patron of those with stressful jobs) that’s been sitting in my cart for, um, over a year.  The more beautiful things I saw, the more I couldn’t decide.  It was hard.  But, you know, the good kind of hard.

Today I made up my mind.  I clicked on a link, and instantly I knew that I had found just the right thing.  You see, I have come to realize that I need a better pincushion to keep near my main sewing spot, the comfy chair by the window in my bedroom.  It should be somewhat heavy, so I can perch it on the windowsill without worrying about it getting knocked off, it should have a way to keep the needles and pins separate so that pins won’t get all tangled up with excess thread, and it should be something that I will enjoy seeing every day.  I had been mulling over ideas for making something, but was feeling a little discouraged about it, since given my current backlog of projects, I might get around to it sometime next year, as long as I didn’t make any Christmas presents.  I never would have dreamt that the solution to my problem was needle felted mollusc.  It adds another layer of ridiculous to the whole thing that really takes it to the next level.  Just like that, my decision was made, and I had bought a pincushion for my windowsill.

Let the Rain Come necklace from Enchanted Leaves

Let the Rain Come necklace from Enchanted Leaves

I still had some of the gift card left , so I decided that since I had bought one thing that was equal parts whimsical and useful, I should spend the rest on something that would (and I can’t think of a way to say this that doesn’t sound like a cheesy self-help manual) comfort my spirit.  It’s no secret that the last four months or so have been hard.  The challenges, they keep a-coming, and it doesn’t look like they’re going to let up any time soon.  When it rains, it pours.

So I decided to get an umbrella.  Lately I’ve been learning again (still, always) how many people I have in my life who are ready to support, encourage, and care for me in every way.  It’s so many people: Mom who worries about whether I have groceries in the house, the nurse coworker who administered my shot so I didn’t have to pay my doctor’s office to do it, AP and Boy-O giving me rides to work, The Duchess making me dinner even in the midst of moving, an aunt deciding that instead of sending her regular contribution to Catholic Charities, she’d rather help me pay my medical bills, my boss helping me run errands, Johnnycakes offering to carry my loaded laundry basket upstairs, and my sweet cousins giving me this opportunity to buy something beautiful and unnecessary. There have been so many kindnesses that I could not list them all, but I am so glad for every one.

The rains may be here, but I have an umbrella.  Several of them, actually.  Every time I wear this necklace, I will remember.