Tags

, , , ,

Feast of All Souls

I have an interesting predicament today.  My kitchen is full of raw ingredients for amazing dishes that I’ve been planning for days – roast pork with pickled prunes, spaghetti bolognese ala Delia, sweet potatoes for breakfasts, turnips to roast in the oven with drippings and thyme, all kinds of lovely things.  The problem is that all of these recipes take time to cook, some of them several hours or even days.  And I’m hungry right now.  I’ve been running errands and doing housework all day, I haven’t had my lunch, it’s time to eat, and the idea of waiting an hour for potatoes to roast is not something I can deal with right now.

A big part of the problem is that when I let myself get too hungry, I start to lose the power to make decisions.  I know that at this point it doesn’t really matter what I eat, but should I get out the lovely loaf of bread I got at the Farmers’ Market this morning and make myself a butter and radish sandwich?  That has no protein in it whatsoever, so maybe I should make myself a grilled cheese instead, or one of those tasty egg-in-a-hole grilled cheese combo sandwiches instead.  Except there’s that one tomato soup recipe I’ve been wanting to try.  But that would take time to make, and in the meantime, I’m still on the couch dithering, feeling more cranky by the moment.

If I were more of a normal American, I’d go get in my car, drive myself to the nearest drive through or other food-providing establishment, and just buy myself something all ready to eat, conveniently prepackaged and good to go.  But the idea of eating prepackaged packets of salt, fat, and highly processed carbohydrate when I’ve got all those good, high quality ingredients just sitting there waiting in my kitchen is just too much.  I can’t do it.  Which leads me back to the necessity of me cooking something, and soon.

Meanwhile, I’ve been browsing Pinterest, and now I’m hungry for things like baked apples, and chicken Parmesan meatballs, and Buffalo Chicken Bubble-Up, none of which I have the ingredients for.  And which would take time to cook.

I think I’m going to have to bite the bullet.  It’s time to suck it up, close up the computer, go into the kitchen and just make something.  Anything.  As long as it’s edible.  And then, once my brain is working again, then I can figure out what I’m going to make for lunch.

