Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

2013-05-18_10-12-44_7

I went to Notre Dame to see my sister Mariah graduate with her MNA (Masters of Nonprofit Business Administration), and this is the only picture I took all weekend.  (Well, this and one that I was going to send JohnJohn.)  I don’t know whether to be proud or embarrassed.  Maybe both?  That is kinda traditional for graduations after all, and Lord knows Notre Dame is big on Traditions.  Though an awful lot of their Traditions seem to be pretty newly minted.  Mariah graduated the first time from Notre Dame a little over fifteen years ago (I think – my math might be off), and all weekend she was scoffing at various “traditions” that she had never heard of before.  Regardless, it was a lovely weekend.  Mariah did us proud, graduating Magna Cum Laude, and leading the crowd in the Alma Mater at the end of her college diploma ceremony.  Technically, there were four other MBA graduates leading the song with her, but Mariah was the only one even remotely near a microphone, so her voice was the only one the audience could hear.  We were pretty proud.

In my defense, Indy was snapping away with her camera right beside me, and she’s a much better photographer than I’ll ever be, so it’s not like the family will be hurting for pictures of Mariah in her moment of glory.  Still…

The knitting I am holding, by the way, is the pair of socks that AnniPotts won in the Easter Vigil bet.  They’re my basic sock pattern, which is based off of the Universal Toe-Up Sock Formula, modified to start with Judy’s Magic Cast On, and using the gusset from Fleegle’s Toe-Up No-Flap, No-Hassle Sock Pattern.  After I turn the heel I plan to switch to a basic 2×2 rib, and knit until the yarn is gone.  The yarn is Heart & Sole yarn from Red Heart in Spring Stripe.  I think.  All I know is that it was the one that looked reasonably pretty.  I don’t remember what size of needles I’m using.  2 maybe?  Whichever ones I used for my Fantine stockings.  Which I’ll show you guys one of these days, whenever I get around to finally weaving in the ends and getting some decent pictures.  I’m not much feeling the rush.  Somehow the urgency to own knee-high wool stockings has rather eased off lately.  Can’t imagine why.

Getting to see Mariah celebrate a major milestone was not the only reason I went to Notre Dame.  My other reason was because that was where my dear Young Queen has been hiding herself, slaving away at her M.Div., and helping shepherd large squads of young women through the vicissitudes of college life (she’s helping pay her way as the Assistant Rector of one of the dorms).  As one of the perks of her position, she gets to occupy the most cozy set of academic rooms up on the third floor of her charmingly gothic dorm, complete with a gorgeous bow window of narrow, many-paned windows, finished off with small stained glass motifs.  It’s like living in Hogwarts.  No, really.  I want to visit her in the winter just so I can curl up on one of her deeply overstuffed couches with a mug of something hot in my hand and watch the snow drift down past those windows.  In the meantime, however, it was delightful to get to spend a little time with her, and catch up on how things have been going since we talked last.  We’re hoping that she might be able to make her way to Ohio sometime this summer, maybe even for Midsummer’s.  But we’ll have to see how things go.

And now I’m in the midst of the Shortest Week Ever.  Because of my time off for the graduation, and the upcoming holiday, I’m only working three days this week. It feels like I’m barely getting into the week, and it’s already almost over.  It’s quite a rush!  I’m looking forward to another long weekend so soon, but first we’ll have to get there!

