Tags

, , , , , ,

My dears, I feel so at leisure right now I hardly know what to do with myself.  I’m done with (mostly) done with work until after Christmas, my presents for Christmas Eve are done, so the next set of presents I will need to have ready aren’t due for a week, the house is clean, the kitchen sink is mostly empty, I have nowhere to go, nowhere I need to be, and a whole evening in which to do as I choose.  I hardly know what to do with myself.  It’s glorious.

One thing I know I have absolutely no interest in is going anywhere tonight.  The weather outside is frightful, the fire in the gas furnace downstairs is definitely delightful, there is no place I want to go, so I’m quite content to stay inside, and let it snow to its heart’s content.  My life has turned into a Christmas song, and that’s just fine with me.  It’s not as awesome as if it were I Want A Hippopotamus For Christmas, but then you can’t have everything.

I did have the best Dinner Party ever this past Wednesday.  It was the A Very Special Lucy & The Auteur Dinner Party, and it was fabulous.  I don’t know when I have laughed that hard for that long.  Indy laughed so much she got a stitch in her side.  I’m surprised that I didn’t too.  Most of the guests were my family, which accounts for some of it (when we’re on a roll, the laughter can go on for a very long time), but everyone sitting at the table contributed significantly to the general hilarity.  We were ten at dinner, which is very close to the perfect number for my dining room, and for once I didn’t get overambitious with the food.  I think the most complicated thing we had was the ridiculously cute black olive & cream cheese penguins.  Everything just sortof came together.  I loved it, and I can’t wait for the next time Lucy & The Auteur come in to town so that I can do it again.

In the meantime, Christmas and deadlines, and the panic of knowing that I must have something finished tomorrow feel worlds away.  Tomorrow I’ll buckle down to work again.  I have all these siblings, you see, and I still have no idea what I’m going to make for them.  So there’s still plenty of work to be done.  But I’ll think about that tomorrow.  Tonight I am going to rest.

Good night!

