Tags

, , , , , ,

nativity German

First of all, please stop and say a prayer for all of the people affected by the tragedy in Connecticut.

Second of all, does anybody know where I can get a miniature nativity set like the one pictured above?  It’s a tiny set, the figures no more than an inch high, made out of plastic.  From my cursory internet research, it seems that they were mass manufactured in Germany in the 50s and 60s, and widely and cheaply sold throughout America.  And I wants one.  I wants it real bad.

This is why: I don’t know what it was exactly, but something this morning reminded me of childhood memories of decorating empty, clean tuna and sardine cans – lining them with velvet, and gluing gold braid around the edges before carefully arranging these plastic nativity figures inside like a little diorama.  I was maybe five or six, and I thought the result was so beautiful, even if the plastic figures never took the glue very well and were constantly tumbling out.  I’ve been trying to think of a good Christmas present I could make for all of my siblings, and I had settled on another project, but suddenly this morning I was seized with the desire to make those little dioramas again.  And it has to be this nativity set, not some other miniature one.  I found a place where I can buy a smaller version of the set (holy family plus two shepherds and a couple of sheep) for a very reasonable price, but I want the little angel, and the donkey, and the little Star of Bethlehem to stitch to the backdrop.  And so far every one I’ve found for sale (including the one pictured above) has already been long sold.  Which is very sad.  So, you know, does anyone know where I can find one?*

In the meantime, I’m going to go see The Hobbit tonight with a group of friends.  I’ve been looking forward to this for a long time, and not just because Martin Freeman is Teh Hots.  I have kinda loved The Hobbit since I read it one summer afternoon sitting in the chair tucked into the corner of Aunt K & Uncle G’s dining room in Washington, D.C.  (Yes, I do mean to say I read it in one afternoon.  I just happen to read fast, ok?  Quit looking at me like that.)  I don’t have the deep emotional connection to it that some Tolkien fans seem to have, but there’s some definite deep fondness there.  And I like Peter Jackson’s adaptations pretty well, so I’m willing to believe that this will be pretty darn cool.  And then Saturday I’m going to go meet Sweet’s fiance for the first time, which should also be fun.  In between things will be a LOT of sewing and knitting.  Luckily I hit the jackpot at the Redbox out by my other work yesterday, so I’ve got not only The Avengers, but also Hunger Games, the entire first season of Downton Abbey, The Gladiator (I’ve always had a little bit of a thing for Maximus Decimus Meridius), and Chocolat waiting for me at home.

Let the movie watching commence!

*And it turns out, the answer is ebay.  For, um, a little more than I was planning to spend – definitely taking it out of the many, many siblings present range.  But maybe I could have just, you know, one or two for myself…

