Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Already today has been a full day, and I haven’t even had any turkey yet.  This morning I got up even earlier than I do for work, got dressed, and headed out to Miamisburg for the 34th Annual Turkey Trot.  There I met Sae, Mr. T, Sweet Pea and AnniPotts.  Mr. T was planning to run the five mile race, Sae and AnniPotts were walking, and since strollers weren’t allowed on the longer race, I would take Sweet Pea with me on the one mile Fun Walk.  So that’s what we did.  Sweet Pea and I had a nice time together after our little stroll watching the first runners cross the finish line, and after we saw Mr. T finish, adjourned to a park bench to toy with a few cheerios and be cute.  It was pretty cool.

Now I’m home, getting ready to make the caramelized garlic butter to go in the mashed potatoes I’m fixing for dinner tonight (see the recipe below), and trying to figure out my crafting plans for the weekend.  Uncle S’s sweater back is ready for the last rows (I realized I’d overshot on the armholes and had to rip back an inch or so), plus there’s, well, lots of other things.  I’m feeling quite lazy at the moment, however, so it’s hard to make any serious plans.  The air is soft & warm, and I’m pleasantly tired from the early start and the light exercise.  Really what I want to do right now is take a nap.  But I think that’s not on the agenda.

Today what I am thankful for is my family, health insurance, and abundance: an abundance of family and friends, an abundance of material goods (witness the tumbled over pile of books in the corner, or, um, my sewing room… actually, let’s not witness the sewing room), an abundance of grace and blessings.  I once had a theology professor bring me to tears during class by his expounding on the theme that the language of love is abundance.  Love does not count things, does not portion out precisely what is fair, but gives more than what is necessary.  God shows this, he said, by his gift to us of Mary as both the Mother of God, and our mother.  God could have stopped at only giving us Jesus, or Jesus could have chosen to keep his mother to himself, but he shows his abundantly generous love for us in that he gave us Mary too.  (It was a Marian Theology class, can you tell?)  And no matter how tight things can get at times, or how poor I sometimes feel, the truth is, I have more than enough.  I have an abundance.

Happy Thanksgiving!

I was going to just link to the post where I first wrote out the recipe for my Caramelized Garlic Mashed Potatoes, but I realized when I read over it that it needed a little tweaking.  So here, as my Thanksgiving gift to you, is my updated recipe:

Caramelized Garlic Mashed Potatoes of Amazing Goodness

Ingredients:

  • 5 lbs. potatoes
  • 1 stick of butter (2 or more if you want to be really decadent)
  • 1 head of garlic
  • 1 tub sour cream (usually 2 cups)
  • salt & pepper

Makes enough for a rather large crowd of hungry relatives.

About an hour before you want to eat, scrub the potatoes, put them in a large pot of water (make sure the water covers the potatoes), cover the pot and set it over high heat to come to a boil.  Once the water starts to boil, turn the heat down, and let the potatoes cook.

While you are waiting, separate out all the cloves of garlic in the head, peel them (I prefer the smashing the cloves slightly with the flat side of a knife to loosen the skins method), and chop the garlic finely.  You want the pieces to be about the size of sesame seeds, or a little larger.  Melt the butter in a small saucepan over low heat, and add the chopped garlic.  Cook it gently until the garlic pieces have just turned a delicate golden brown.  They can get about as dark as bread crust, but for the love of God, DO NOT LET IT BURN.  Burned garlic has a nasty, bitter, acrid flavor, and you would have to throw it all out and start again.  As soon as the garlic has turned a lovely golden color, turn the heat off and set the pan aside.

As soon as the potatoes are done/tender all the way through when you poke them with a fork (which should be about 20 minutes after the pot comes to a rolling boil), drain them.  Pour the garlic butter over the potatoes, and mash them up using a potato masher, or if necessary, a large wooden spoon.  Add the sour cream, salt and pepper to taste, and mix thoroughly.  Serve.  Accept the adoration that is your due.

If you would like to be extra fancy, save a little of the butter along with some of the garlic chunks, and drizzle it artistically over the mashed potatoes just before serving.

