Tags

, , , ,

I find it very amusing that these days, when I think, “Oh,  my poor neglected blog!” it’s because I haven’t posted in over a day, not because it’s been, you know, two weeks.  Blogging (almost) every day has not been nearly as difficult as I’d thought it would be.  It helps to have ridiculously cute pictures of my ridiculously cute niece to fall back on whenever the waters of inspiration start getting a little shallow.  And I even have a few ridiculously cute pictures of my other ridiculously cute niece that I’ve been holding back on.  But, you know, this is not a Baby Blog, so I’m trying to exercise at least a little restraint.  Sorta.

The results from my What Should Bernadette Do With Her Trans-Siberian Orchestra Tickets poll are in.  It seems that most of you think I should bring along family & friends.  Only one person voted for mud wrestling (I thought that was rather sad), and only one person stood up for the anonymous blog readers, which rather confirms my suspicions that 95% of my readers are people who know me or my family in Real Life.  (Which makes me want to put up another poll asking my readers to let me know who they are, but I think that’s a post for another day.)

So while I had been seriously toying with the idea of reserving one or two tickets for the blog commenter who manages to make me laugh the loudest or most impresses me with their submission, I think I will let that go for another day as well.  And maybe we’ll have a small give-away or two in December.  In the meantime, so far it looks like Pippi is going with me, and quite possibly Flo too.  The third spot so far has not been claimed, but I have a few feelers out, and I think it will be by the end of the weekend.  If you actually know me, you would really, really like to be considered for the 3rd ticket, and you would be available on Thursday, December 6, let me know.

In the meantime, I have a very quiet weekend of Making Things planned.  I’ve been making quite a lot of things lately, but I haven’t been showing them much.  This is primarily because I am not at home or at a place where I can take pictures during the prime sunlight hours most days.  Also, quite a few of the thing I’ve been making are clothing for myself, and it’s hard to get decent pictures of myself without trying to use mirrors, which wouldn’t work anyway since the largest mirror we have is the one mounted over Rosie’s dresser in Rosie’s bedroom, the darkest room in the house.  However, this weekend promises to be gloriously sunny, so I’m hoping to get at least a few nice shots of pretty things to show off to you.

Oh, and I should mention that the picture at the top of this post is what my front windowsill looks like right at this exact second, dusty window and all.  All the empty spools of thread are some of my dead soldiers from the last few months of sewing.  Maybe someday I’ll do something clever & crafty with them, but for now I like just lining them up and feeling impressed with myself.  The roses are some I filched on my walk last weekend.  I’m rather amazed at how the roses around here are still going strong.  We’ve had some frosts, so I would have thought they would be getting a little discouraged about now, but they’re still going gangbusters.  My white rose out on my postage stamp of a patio in particular is blooming like crazy (Rosie: “Is that rose bush on crack?”).  So you might get some pictures of that too, while I’m photographing things.

And now I must go draft a pattern for a very tiny pair of yoga pants.

