Tags

, , , ,

This morning something entirely new to me happened.  Every once in a while the organization I work for has tickets available for various events – concerts, games, whatever.  Sometimes they use them as rewards for one thing or another, and sometimes they have a drawing.  Usually I don’t bother putting my name in, since I don’t think I’d ever won a drawing.  However, when the latest ticket drawing was announced, I decided to put my name in.  The concert was for the Trans-Siberian Orchestra Christmas concert.  I’ve never seen them perform, but I’ve heard a lot about them, and I’ve always thought it would be really cool to go.  (I’ve always wanted to see the Harlem Globetrotters too, but that’s another blog post.)  So I put in my name, and to my total surprise, I won.  I never win anything, but I won.  I’m still kinda amazed.

So now I have four tickets to see the Trans-Siberian Orchestra on December 6, and the question is: who should I take with me?  My first thought, honestly, was that I could do a give-away on the blog.  I’ve never done one before, all the cool blogs do them, and it would be fun.  Plus, it’s NaNoBloMo, so I think it would be nice to do something special (besides, you know, exposing you to my random burblings on a daily basis).  Except the catch is that I would be sitting next to whoever won the give-away, and while I would like to think only really awesome people whom I would like a lot read this blog, the reality is that the internet is a strange, weird, and sometimes scary place, and I’m not really comfortable opening things up to the possibility of spending the evening with a total stranger who might or might not be really creepy.  And yet, I’m still very, very tempted…

The other options, if I don’t do a blog give-away, would be to open the invitation to certain family and friends, and see who might be available to go with me.  I’m pretty sure that it wouldn’t be too hard to find three other people to go.  I could even return the treat of the friend who invited me to Lucia di Lammermoor.  If there are too many people who want to go, I could have a competition of some sort.  Mud-wrestling, maybe, or competitive coffee brewing.  Or something.

Anyway, this is where you guys come in.  How do you think I should dispose of this unexpected largesse?

You have roughly 24 hours to vote.  When I get home from work tomorrow, I’m closing it down, and making my decision.  So, you know, vote early and often!

