Tags

, , , , ,

Something awesome happened at work today, and so I thought I’d share.  It all started when one of our employees came in to have me reset his password for the employee information system.  While I was doing so, I inadvertently called him “Hon.”

Now, I’m the kind of person who uses endearments on a regular basis.  Hon, honey, my dear, angel face – it’s just what I do, particularly if I know you a little & think you’re fairly cool, and in general most people I use endearments on seem to like it pretty well.  However, it has been pointed out to me that I should not do this at work, since some people don’t like it, and since we try to discourage our employees from using endearments on patients instead of using the patient’s name (it can come across as condescending), HR in particular has to set a good example.  (I am finding that being in HR has a lot in common with Caesar’s wife.)  I am finding this a very hard habit to break, so I’m trying to make a point of correcting myself when I catch it.

Anyway, I called this guy hon, caught myself, and apologized, explaining that I was trying to stop doing that. He objected to me not calling him hon, saying that he would even change his name to Hon so that I could still call him hon.  I started laughing, and said that actually I could do that, since in the employee database we have both a First Name and a Preferred First Name field (you know, for guys who are named, say, Frederick, but everybody calls them Lou), and I could totally put Hon in as his preferred first name.  He started laughing too, and then very seriously told me that I should do that.

So I did.

And now his Preferred First Name is Hon.

He’s also kinda now my hero.

