Tags

, , , , , , , ,

You can tell that everyone at work is more than ready for a long weekend when even my usually sweetly prim boss starts making “jokes” about firebombing the seriously backed up file room.  Luckily, this weekend we get one.  While I may grouse on occasion about my work’s policy of forcing “nonessential” employees to take extra PTO around holidays, in all honesty, this long, hopefully lazy holiday could not have come at a better time.  Work has been wearing me out, and for the past week or so I’ve been fighting a cold that I’ve been pretending is just heavy allergies.  I have movies I want to watch (see also: Shaun of the Dead), and projects I want to finish/start.  More than that, though, I want some time to just do unnecessary things – to sit quietly and think about things, maybe take a walk down by the river, or take a nap in the golden afternoon sun.  I want time to just be, and I think maybe I just might get it.

Lately particularly I want time to sew.  A while back I realized I needed more clothes for work, and I started plotting out some cute vintage-ish blouses to go with my steadily growing wardrobe of full 1950s style skirts.  I acquired a couple of patterns, and some shirting fabric, and a few weekends ago I got through the test muslin stage, including doing my first ever Full Bust Adjustment (since most patterns are designed to accommodate B cups, those of us with more generous chests often need to adjust the pattern to make it fit properly).  Only, after I’d already finished the muslin, it occurred to me that it might look better with two smaller darts under the arm instead of the one huge dart, and I haven’t had time since then to go back and redo the adjustment to find out.

And then, there’s this sweater that was in the Dior Fall 2012 RTW line.  I saw it the first time on Pinterest, and was immediately seized with the fierce desire to make one for myself.  Cuz, you know, I think I could.  It looks like it’s mostly a kimono sleeve wrap top with a deep hem at the top and attached sleeves.  I could do that.  I think.  Might take some playing around before I really got it, but still,  I could do that.  I don’t have exactly the right fabric yet – I ordered some rib knit from fabric.com that was nice, but not perfect (not plush enough).  But I figure it will do to perfect the pattern with until I find the perfect plush rib knit sweater fabric to sew up the finished version.  And then I will have my very own Dior knock off, which makes me shake my head and grin.

The skirt is pretty sweet too.  The first time I saw it, I didn’t care for it, but the more I look at it, the more those pintucks underneath the gauzy overlayers has looked more and more interesting.  Of course, my version of the skirt would have to be lined cuz, you know, I’m not a fashion model, and also modesty.  But I do have an awful lot of periwinkle blue organza in my fabric stash, and it would look awfully pretty.  So we’ll see.

And then, yesterday when I got my new coffee pot in the mail from Amazon, I got the other little thing I put in to make the $25 free shipping: Pattern Magic: Stretch Fabrics by Tomoko Nakamichi.  I had seen a makeup of a pattern from another one of the Pattern Magic series on one of my sewing blogs, and was interested enough to check the book out.  However, it was the preview picture of the stretch fabric projects that were fascinating.  So far the book has been even more interesting – some of the projects are so simple, yet so ingenious – the kind of thing that, after you’ve seen it, it’s blindingly obvious that fabric should be able to do that, yet before you never would have thought of that.  It’s a little dizzying, like the way a really tidy piece of philosophy of theology is – you never would have thought of it before, but now you can’t imagine why you didn’t always know this.

Yes, I’m a geek.

Anyway, there’s a couple of projects from that book I hope to get started this weekend.  However, because the book doesn’t provide actual patterns, just basics and schematics to get you started, I’ll have to do a little pattern drafting first.  So we’ll see how that goes.

In the meantime, the next thing on my agenda is to go visit The Duchess in the hospital.  When she went to the doctor yesterday for her routine prenatal visit, they discovered that her level of amniotic fluid was dangerously low.  Not having enough amniotic fluid around it in the womb is quite dangerous for small babies, so the doctor had The Duchess admitted to the hospital to keep an eye on her while she chugged fluids hoping to get the level back up to safe levels.  Unfortunately, while it improved overnight, it still wasn’t where it needed to be this morning.  So now they are attempting to gently induce labor (The Duchess really, really doesn’t want to have to use Pitocin, which is the standard more drastic labor-inducing drug), and if all goes well, sometime this weekend it looks like we might have another niece in the family.

So, if  you could, please keep The Duchess, and 007, and the little niece-in-waiting in your prayers.  This is a scary situation for my sister, especially since her husband isn’t here yet (he had stayed back in Philadelphia to finish up a job, and is racing here as fast as he can).  I’m sure that everything will go well, even if not according to The Duchess’s original plan, but we can use all the prayers we can get!

