Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

I have often thought that one way to tell that you had a really good weekend is by how sore you are when you’re done.  By that measure, this weekend just now winding to a close was a rousing success, cuz, man my calf muscles are killing me.    And, yes, this is dancing related, though not the usual dancing.

You see, Saturday night there was a square dance in Cincinnati, a special square dance put on for Catholic young adults, self-proclaimed as the social event of the season.  Some of us in Catholic Life (my Catholic young adult group) are friends with some of the people putting it on, so we decided to get in on the action.  Well, I should say that the girls decided to get in on the action.  Most of the boys (except for a select few, who consequently got major cool points) decided to stay home.  But the girls put on their dancing shoes and headed down.

And, you know, I guess we made something of a splash.  It helps that we’re pretty darn cute, if I do say so myself, and most of us really like dancing.  There were three sets of square dances separated by good old fashioned shake-your-booty DJ’d dancing (think really good wedding DJ), and pretty much any time the music was playing, you’d find us out on the dance floor, having a really good time.  It was a lot of fun.  I hadn’t been noticing other people noticing us (I was mostly having much too good of a time dancing), but at the end of the night when it was time to say good-bye, it was kinda awesome finding my girls in the center of a group of guys all trying to persuade them to come back down to Cincinnati sometime.  We, of course, tried to persuade them to come up to Dayton.  We’ll see if any of them make the trip.  We know that at least one succeeded in getting a particular girl’s number (Pippi and I gave each other a high five when we saw him go for his phone – we’re fans of our friends getting some action), so I have a feeling that we’ll be seeing some new faces in our neck of the woods sometime soon.

For myself, I especially enjoyed seeing That Guy again.  I was trying to remember the last time I’d actually seen him, and I think it was about three years ago.  We had hung out some back then, but then life happened.  We didn’t see each other so much anymore, he started grad school and moved to Cincinnati, and we sortof lost touch.  He has always been one of my favorite people, so it was really, really good to reconnect with him.  All in all, it was a really good night.

The rest of the weekend has been pretty low key.  I’ve been doing some spring cleaning, which is new for me.  Usually the only thing that really gets me to clean the house is knowing that I have company coming over!  But it feels good.  One of my New Year’s ambitions was to get the house in better order, and it looks like I’m making some pretty significant progress towards that.

The really exciting thing, though, is that on Monday I’m finally, finally moving into my new offices.  At long last I will be in a place that is really mine, not a place where I’m there on sufferance, as a favor for the time being.  Moreover, I will have my storage areas right next to me, instead of on two other completely different floors.  No longer will I have to make a field trip every time I have to help someone pick up their uniform order.  No longer will pulling someone’s file take up to twenty minutes.  I will have room to file things, room to store things, room to spread out and get things organized.  Oh, my friends, I can’t wait!

And while I’m deliriously happy about this move, I have to also admit that there is some sadness too.  My old office has been good to me, particularly since it’s right next to my friends.  There’s the ED unit admin who’s become a good friend and a few others, but mostly it’s my police buddies.  It makes things easy having them so close, and I will miss seeing them a lot.  They’re not really happy about me moving either.  They like having me close, not just because it makes it easy to hang out, but because we have to work together a lot on setting up badges.  It was very cute watching them try not to grin every time I told them there had been another delay in me moving.  On Friday Sarge told me that he had actually been pretty upset that I was really moving, that he likes having me nearby, particularly since I always have a smile on my face.  He has a bit of a temper, does Sarge, and he told me that there were times that he was feeling like punching someone’s face in, and then I would walk by and smile, and he’d relax.  It was the most awfully sweet thing.  I keep telling them that they have to come visit me, but it won’t be the same, and we all know it.

Of all the people in the hospital, the police officers are the ones who have been the most consistently kind and welcoming to me, the ones who have always had my back.  With my own actual team so far away, they are the ones I’ve relied on.  Now that my real team has offices at the hospital, they’ll be spending more time there.  I know that it’s time for me to start bonding with them instead of the cute guys down the hall.  But still I don’t want to say good-bye.

