Tags

, , , , , , ,

Today I got to see my new offices with the furniture all arranged for the first time.  Friends, it is so beautiful.  And big!  Two storage rooms!  Two!  One just for files that I can keep locked all the time, and one for everything else I have to keep track of (see also: uniforms).  And as much as I’m going to miss being near my friends (see also: police officers), I am so ready to move.  Sigh.

In other news, my new baby nephew still doesn’t have a name.  I think this might take a while.  My only hope is that when he finally does get a name, it won’t be something that will automatically get him teased ruthlessly on the playground.  Though everyone gets teased on the playground anyway.  But if you have an opportunity to cut down on the amount of future torment your kid is going to be subjected to, isn’t it your parently duty to do so?  Though it’s not like you can control the future.  And now I’ve been debating back and forth for way too long about names, and parent duties and control issues, and to be honest, let’s just name the kid already, amirite?

Tonight was swing dancing, as all Wednesday nights are fated to be.  Dancing has been challenging lately.  For a long time I’ve felt stuck.  I knew that I wasn’t dancing like I wanted to be dancing, I knew that there were things I needed to be working on, but I didn’t know what they were, I didn’t know what to do to be better.  So at Smackdown I used some of my new income to take my first ever private lesson with my dance crush, Peter Strom.  And it was good.  It was worth every penny (and there were a lot of pennies).  It was also a good experience in ego-reduction.  For the first time in years I felt like the gawky beginning dancer I used to be who was just discovering how badly she danced.

This was not at all the fault of my instructor.  He was great, and he did exactly what I asked him to do: be honest with me about my dancing.  And he gave me things to work on.  So I’ve been working.  It’s hard.  It’s challenging.  I’m trying to make myself move in ways that are entirely new to me, and in some ways go against the way I painstakingly worked so hard to learn how to dance.  But it’s good.  Tonight for the first time, I feel like I’m dancing just a little differently, maybe a little better.  It feels like something has changed.  I did the snappiest switches I’ve ever done in my life.  I danced fast without getting an asthma attack.  It felt really good.  I still have a long, long way to go.  But I feel like I’m on my way.

