Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

This morning when I went to Mass, I didn’t use the special book with the new Mass responses.  Well, I did, but only two times, when Father specifically said to look at a particular page.  (“And now we will kneel and say our Penitential Act found on page 2”)  Plus, every time that Father said, “Peace be with you.”  for the first time ever I managed to say, “And with your spirit.” in response.  Every single time.  Sure, a couple of times it came out sorta like “And also with your spirit.” but we do not press that point.  We overlook it.

Those of you who are not Catholic, or who don’t go to Mass all that often may not understand what a big deal this is.  The thing is that ever since the Catholic Mass was translated into English after Vatican II (fifty-ish years ago), every time Mass has been said in the English speaking world, there have been standard prayers and responses that you say the same way every single time.  For thirty some years I’d been praying the Mass the same way, responding, “And also with you” when the priest said “Peace be with you,” etc.  Then this past December we got a new English translation of the Mass, one that is more faithful to the original Latin.  This caused no end of ructions, whining, and frustration when, for the first time in years people had to actually look at the order of Mass while they were saying it.  And for the life of me, I could not get it right.  Until today.

For the record, I like the new translation, even if it did change one of my favorite prayer from, “In your mercy keep us free from sin and protect us from all anxiety.” to something a little less satisfying, asking to be kept “safe from all distress” which is not at all the same as anxiety.  At least the prayer I find most comforting, when we ask God to “look not on our sins, but on the faith of your Church” stayed substantially the same.  And overall, I think it is a good thing.  The translations for other languages were much more literal than the old English translation, so by switching we’re bringing ourselves more in line with the Universal Church, which is awesome.  I mean, isn’t one of the big cool things about being Catholic that wherever you go anywhere in the world, the Mass is still the Mass, and the Church is still the Church?  Still, the new translation is taking a little getting used to.

When I got home from Mass, I made myself some breakfast, and settled in for a nice morning of catching up on all the internet-y goodness my work’s firewall prevents me from enjoying during the week (see also: facebook).  And little by little I started to freeze.  At first I thought it was just because it was a cold day,and we keep our house pretty cold on general money-saving principals.  It was only a little while ago, when even a wool skirt, thick tights, long sleeved shirt, wool sweater, and wool scarf were not enough to stop me from freezing, that I got up and looked at the thermostat.  Lo and behold, somehow the thermostat had been turned down to 44°F, and the temperature inside our house was down to 50°F. Which is, you know, cold.

So we fixed it.  The temperature is now 51°F.  Hopefully it will continue to rise.

Last night I met some of my CL friends for dinner at the Japanese steak house by the Dayton Mall.  It was a lot of fun.  I ended up sitting between The Thinker and two other guys at the end of the grill, which resulted in jokingly jealous texts from Pippi and Little J asking why I got to sit with all the boys. (To which I replied, Milkshakes.”)  Afterwards we decided we wanted to go bowling, but of course at 9pm on a Saturday night, there’s an hour wait for a lane.  At that point most of our group decided they were done for the night and headed home.  The bowling alley was right across the street from the discount movie theatre, so a few of us headed over to watch whatever movie was up next.  This turned out to be Alvin and the Chipmunks: Chipwrecked, which turned out to be… not quite as horrible as it could have been.  I guess.  I had a feeling that if I’d been in a more slaphappy mood, or maybe with a different, sillier group of friends, it could have been awesome.  But instead it just… wasn’t.  Still, there are many worse ways to spend a Saturday night.

My plans for the rest of the weekend mostly involve drinking more coffee, maybe getting some housework done, and knitting on my fair isle hot water bottle cover while watching a movie.  Luckily I don’t need to do laundry, since I washed my uniforms while waiting for the brownies to bake on Thursday, so I don’t need to compete with Rosie and Johnnycakes for the washer & dryer today.  In a bit I’ll head over to the Family Homestead to eat homemade lasagna with whoever is assembled there.  And it will be good.

See?  I do too have a life outside of work.

