Tags

, , , ,

You can tell that you’re settling into a job when you start to have pet peeves.  For example, job seekers, for the love of all that is holy, when you upload your resume to the jobs website, please make sure that your name and contact information is on it at the top!  Also, it does you no good to drop off your resume at the HR office if you haven’t actually applied for any of our open positions.  I don’t care that you printed it off on the really nice paper, carefully picked a pretty font, and even gave it to me in a file folder (though I will use that folder -thanks!).  It’s still going to go in the slush file, and never be seen again.  The same goes for having your mother e-mail me personally.  It’s great that she’s the personal secretary for a high-up.  I’d love to be able to help.  But if you don’t actually apply for any jobs, there’s not a lot that I can do!

Just thought I’d get that off my chest.

Beyond wishing that job seekers would make it a little easier to, like, get in contact with them, I think things are going well.  For the most part I’ve been terrifically busy.  Many days I’ve barely had time to make coffee before the people and phone calls and e-mails start coming in.  When lunch time comes, often I have to lock my door and turn out the lights to make people let me eat in peace.  Even then, people knock and peer through the window of the door. If they see me sitting there, they call to me until I let them in, and I still didn’t get my lunch.  I now have a sign in the window which serves a dual purpose of both clearly stating the hours when I am and am not available, and also blocking their view through the window.  So far it’s worked pretty well, and today I even got a little knitting done after I finished my sandwich.

Still, for all that I’ve been seeing lots and lots of people all day, every day, so far the job has been rather, well, lonely.  I am the only one with an office in this trailer, so if I want to see someone I actually know (not just a candidate or new employee I’m meeting for the first time), I have to go find them.  Even then, I haven’t known the other people here very long, so I’d have to have a business reason to seek them out.  I don’t have anyone here that I can go track down just because I want to tell her (or him) a funny story about how the last employee I ordered uniforms for sounded just like Sheldon from Big Bang Theory (he looked kinda like him too), or go to be commiserated with about how embarrassed I was when the president of the hospital (the one who likes everyone looking totally businesslike at all times so much that he’s making us all buy uniforms) caught me on the day I foolishly decided to wear my snow boots to work.

There’s a few people who I think might become friends (the admin in the other trailer, a couple of our nurse managers, the cute security guy who I have to e-mail about getting people their security accesses), but there hasn’t been enough time for that to really happen, and everyone is so busy right now that we probably won’t have time for a while.  The HR team that I’m technically working with are all working out of a building twelve miles and another world away.  The only time I’ve actually laid eyes on them since I started was the day I made an emergency run to pick up office supplies.  Well, and I saw my new Big Boss briefly – she was in the same meeting with the president of the hospital that I inadvertently interrupted the day I wore my snow boots (that was just a stellar day all ’round, let me tell you).  Other than that I’m pretty much on my own.  And it’s lonely.

There’s also a lot to learn.  So far they needed a person out here so badly that they just sorta stuck me in the trailer, and I’m learning as I go.  I haven’t really gotten trained on a lot of the software and things I’m using.  They got me set up with the access, and because I’m fairly good with computers, I’ve just been doing it.  There’s still a lot of things I don’t know, and questions I can’t answer.  The way the benefits work is particularly confusing to me, which is a problem since people keep asking me questions about that, and I’m sure I’m telling them the wrong things.  I really hate that feeling of knowing that no matter what I tell them, I’m probably wrong.  I’ve been reading through the brochures and stuff trying to learn, but some of it is confusing, and there just hasn’t been any time for someone to train me.  Perhaps after we get all settled into the actual hospital building, that will get taken care of.  At least I hope so.  I’d like to feel like I know what I’m doing!

This is all sounding rather negative, which I don’t mean.  I like this job a lot.  I like being busy, and knowing that I am helping to make a positive difference in people’s lives every day.  Today, for example, I helped a woman get a job she otherwise wouldn’t have been considered for.  It’s good for my employer (I think she’s going to make a great employee), it’s good for the managers I work for (they’ve been scrambling to find qualified applicants for some of these jobs that need to be filled yesterday), and it’s good for the woman who will be hired.  And I feel good too.

So, you know, it’s good.  And sooner or later they’ll move me into the actual building, where perhaps I’ll be around people I know on a more regular basis.  And perhaps some of these proto-friendships might mature into real friendships.  And I won’t wear my snow boots to work anymore, even if it does mean tracking through slush and snow in my dress shoes to go to the bathroom.  And sooner later they might actually train me.  And all will be well.

Sigh.

/pity party

