Tags

, , , , , , , ,

A lot of people have been writing posts listing their New Year’s resolutions, and I’m tempted to do the same.  It seems like such a good idea: listing the things you want to do or change before another year is over.  Some revisit their resolutions over and over, plotting their progress, working out what they need to do or adjust in order to meet their goals.  However, usually this is a bad idea for me.  I start with happy, fun resolutions (this year I’m going to travel more!), but then it turns into listing all the big projects I have looming over my head (one word: basement), then quickly transitions into guilt (why haven’t you done that already?), despair (this will never get done.  Never.), procrastination because the task seems so overwhelming (doom!), and then beating myself up (What kind of woman has a basement that looks like that?  If your friends ever saw it they would be disgusted!), and so forth.  And yet there are some things that I really would like to get done this year.  Really.  And maybe if I decide that they’re really ambitions, things that would be fun, then I can short-circuit the whole guilt-despair-procrastination etc. cycle.  Maybe.  Well, that’s my theory anyway.  But for the record, my ambitions this year are:

  • Knit myself a sweater.  Any sweater.  Ideally a really cute cardigan, maybe Audrey in Unst, or Cityscape, or that cabling trial by fire Gwendolyn.  Sure, there are a lot of baby sweaters to be knit as well, but it’s getting a little ridiculous that I, a dedicated knitter, don’t have a single decent hand-knit sweater to wear.  This year I want to knit myself a sweater.
  • Get my house organized.  I struggle with keeping my home in decent order in general, and the total upending required to get rid of the bed bugs has continued to add to the chaos.  Half of our belongings are still sealed in plastic in the basment, waiting their turn to spend a week in the freezer before being brought back into service.  This makes returning the house back to something like decent order quite a challenge.  However, I am recognizing more and more that I really do need to have things in order around me, and I’m hoping that before the year is out, I’ll have things in better shape.
  • Travel to at least one Lindy Exchange or other swing dancing related event.  Because when it comes down to it, I just want to dance.
  • Start going to daily Mass more often.  This is one of those things that I want to do, and think longingly about from time to time, but almost never actually make the time for.  And now I have a job that starts before most of the early Masses get out, and doesn’t give me a long enough lunch hour to make it to a noon Mass.  I suppose I could get up to go to the 6am Mass with the Marianist brothers at UD, but I don’t think I’m ever going to be that much of an early riser.  But still, there’s got to be a daily Mass that I can make it to at least sometimes.  I’m just going to have to do some research to find out.
  • Spend more time with my family.  I live a block away from a significant chunk of them, you would think I would see them all the time.  But I don’t.  And I should change that.

And that’s all I have at the moment.  We’ll see how I do. 🙂

