Tags

, , , , , , ,

This is that magical, rare moment just before Christmas (seriously, this almost never happens) when I discover my Christmas spirit.  Usually right about now I’m swamped, knitting like a mad fiend, cranky about all the people who insist on celebrating Christmas while it’s still Advent, tired, and stressed.  But sometimes, like the sun breaking through the clouds, there’s a serendipitous moment of Christmas joy. Or you know, a few hours.  Or days.  Frankly, I’ve been feeling pretty darn sunny since Friday.  It’s been pretty much awesome, particularly after feeling like Doom for days before hand.  Want to know what made the difference?  It’s a combination of the following factors:

First, I have a start date for my new job, and it’s January 6th.  Why, yes, that’s the Feast of Epiphany.  You know, when the Three Wisemen brought gifts to Jesus?  Yeah, I’m going to get an awesome present this Epiphany, and it’s going to be a whole new job.  A full time one.  With benefits, and awesome co-workers, a job with work I actually enjoy.  It’s really for real, because I have a start date.  And that’s enough to make me smile for days.

Second, I had a talk with my new boss about the whole uniform issue, specifically that the uniforms, as listed on the maker’s website, were bloody expensive.  As it turns out, we actually get a special deal on the uniforms when we order through our employer, which brings the prices down by about 50%.  While that’s still not cheap, it’s much, much better.   Plus, she said that if I could match the fabric exactly, and didn’t deviate from the approved skirt pattern much (which would be totally easy – it’s a basic yoked straight skirt), I could definitely make my own pieces.  Which is awesome.

Third, I’ve decided to give up on having Christmas presents ready before Christmas.  It’s just not going to happen.  I’ll make some really easy felt ornaments for my friends at Job 1, we thankfully did a gift exchange at Job 2, and I gave all the girls at Job 3 the last of the ornaments I knit for the craft fairs I did a couple of Christmases ago.  I wanted to do something really great for Big Boss and Boss J, but it’s going to have to be a going-away present, not a Christmas present.  And while I may personally think it’s horrible luck to give a brother unfinished socks for Christmas (after all, the last time I did that the brother in question, you know, died), I’m going to knit like hell on the socks for Mr. T, and choose to trust God instead of superstition.  So, you know, that makes me feel a lot better.

And then on Sunday, we sang my second favorite Advent Carol.  My first favorite is O Come, O Come, Emmanuel (currently set as my ringtone), but my second favorite is People Look East.  It’s such a great summary of the joyful, happy way I want to look forward to Christmas, that I decided to quote the lyrics for you here:

People Look East

1. People, look east. The time is near
Of the crowning of the year.
Make your house fair as you are able,
Trim the hearth and set the table.
People, look east and sing today:
Love, the guest, is on the way.

2. Furrows, be glad. Though earth is bare,
One more seed is planted there:
Give up your strength the seed to nourish,
That in course the flower may flourish.
People, look east and sing today:
Love, the rose, is on the way.

3. Birds, though you long have ceased to build,
Guard the nest that must be filled.
Even the hour when wings are frozen
God for fledging time has chosen.
People, look east and sing today:
Love, the bird, is on the way.

4. Stars, keep the watch. When night is dim
One more light the bowl shall brim,
Shining beyond the frosty weather,
Bright as sun and moon together.
People, look east and sing today:
Love, the star, is on the way.

5. Angels, announce with shouts of mirth
Christ who brings new life to earth.
Set every peak and valley humming
With the word, the Lord is coming.
People, look east and sing today:
Love, the Lord, is on the way.

Happy Advent, my dears!  Love is on His way!

