Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I think I might have joined a band.  No, really.  It’s the oddest thing.  There I was standing in the dining room at some ridiculously late (early) hour last night, sewing shears in hand, Johnnycakes’ friend Mozart beaming at me from the living room, and somehow it didn’t seem like such a bad idea.  I even told them that in general, I’m almost as busy as God, and they still persisted in wanting me to join.  And somehow, without really knowing how or why, I found myself saying yes.

This is how it started.  A few months ago, Mozart came over one night to practice some songs.  Johnnycakes is a talented drummer who performs at the Dublin Pub open mic knight on Tuesdays with a bunch of other Celtic/folk musicians, and Mozart was planning to join.  Mozart is a dedicated musician, who plays the guitar, and has a book full of his own compositions, many of them quite good.  At the time, I was not intending to join in, but I was doing something on the computer, and at the time, the one place in the house where the wireless signal was any good was in the living room.  So I stayed, and since no one in my family can resist improvisational harmonizing, after a while I started singing along.  We sang more songs, and then there was pizza, and more music, and it was a lot of fun.  And as far as I knew, that was all there was.

Last night I came home from teaching swing dancing, and curled up on the couch to play a little Farmville before going to finish cutting out my bridesmaid dress.  (See? Progress!).  After a few minutes, Johnnycakes came downstairs, and announced that Mozart was on his way over so that he and Johnnycakes could practice.  Apparently they’ve been playing together at the open mic night, and wanted to refine some of their songs a little.  I remembered how nice it was to have Mozart over before, and said that was just fine with me, as long as they didn’t mind me cutting out a dress in the other room.  In a bit Mozart arrived with his girlfriend Aloysia, and the music commenced.

I was doing my best to stay out of things, but you know how it is.  You start humming along, and the next thing you know someone is sharing a song book with you and insisting that you do that harmony again.  I tried not to get pulled in too deeply, but even when I’d closed my computer and headed out into the dining room to start laying out my pattern pieces, I couldn’t resist singing along.  I have to admit it was pretty.  Mozart seemed to like my voice a great deal, and I had to break the news to him that almost everyone in my family can sing like this.  In fact, I’m not even noted for my voice.  The singer in the family is The Duchess.  I know I’m not bad, but you should hear her.  Mozart and Aloysia both tried very hard to convince me to come out to the open mic night tonight, and I had to tell them very firmly no, and no, and no again.  There’s no way I’m adding anything else into my schedule this week.  Not in a million years.  Another week, sure, but this week is completely out.

And that’s about when Mozart and Johnncakes started talking about future plans, and how they felt they might be just about ready to start going after regular gigs.  And Mozart said, “You know, I’m thinking of this as a quartet…” and grinned at me so hopefully.  And there I was in the dining room, sewing shears in one hand, spool of thread in the other, thinking, “You know, it would be a lot of fun…”  So I joined the band.

Now, I have no idea what this will actually entail.  I don’t even know the name of the band yet.  (Do we have a name?)  And of all the bands I could be part of, I never would have thought that I would be part of a folk/Celtic music quartet.  Blues or jazz, sure, but folk music?  Even if I was raised on Peter, Paul, and Mary, I wouldn’t have thought it.  But it’s been a while since I did something new just because I could, just because I wanted an adventure.  I like adventures.  This is going to be fun.

Also fun?  I have a doctor’s appointment tomorrow!  Wheeeee!

Not fun?  Yesterday my brother Jacob would have been 33, and I miss him.  A lot.

But still fun?  Baby sweaters.  There are so many ridiculously cute baby sweaters.  In fact, I think I’m going to start posting my Ridiculously Cute Baby Sweater Of The Day.  Accordingly (especially since it shares a name with today’s patron saint), I give you Cecilia.  The pretty colors, the flower petals framing the face – it’s adorable.  Did I mention that I’ve already been on Knitpicks pricing out the yarn for this one?  Yeah… I’m gonna have to be careful about that.

