Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

I’ve always thought that it Says Something About A Person when you learn what they’re usually distracted by during Mass (for non-Catholics, insert other relatively quiet activity in which one is supposed to concentrate on something while surrounded by other people).  For example, Paco, my civil-engineer friend, gets distracted by the support structures inside the church.  (“Why in the world did they put that there?”  he wonders.)  Big Brother gets distracted by physics equations.  Me?  I get distracted by cute guys, cute babies, intriguing knitted things (I once spent an entire sermon trying to figure out how the sweater three rows in front of me was constructed), and fashion.  Specifically, Sunday before last, I was deeply distracted by the scarf worn by the Pretty Young Thing in the pew in front of me.  It was a small flower print in just the right colors to set off the rest of her outfit, and was tied in a way I hadn’t noticed before – sortof looped loosely twice around her neck and tied in the back so that it became something like a large floral necklace that also happened to help keep her warm.  It was very interesting, and it got me started thinking about scarves off and on ever since.

Now, as a knitter, and before that an avid crocheter, I am not a stranger to scarves.  Even before that, there was a time in my life (maybe 8 or 9 years ago) when no outfit was complete without a coordinating scarf.  That phase passed, and these days the only scarves in my collection that actually get a workout are the woolly ones I rely on to keep me warm all winter.  However, I’ve also been thinking a lot lately about how to upgrade my wardrobe to make it more professional without sacrificing style or comfort. The other day I was in a Big Box Store, and saw a young lady walk by wearing a plain black skirt, a v-neck sweater, and a small scarf tied jauntily about her throat a la Audrey Hepburn.  It was so cute and at the same time office-appropriate.  At that moment I started to think that re-utilizing my scarf collection may be an important part of my plan.  And then this morning, I saw this: 25 Ways To Wear A Scarf in 4.5  Minutes.  It was just what I needed!  So I thought I’d share it with you.

Now I just need to go find my scarves!

