Tags

, , , , , , , ,

You know, if I’m not careful, I’m going to turn into one of those people who thinks that sleeping until 7am is Sleeping In.  In fact, that’s what I did this morning.  I went to bed early last night, slept until I naturally woke, and you know what time it was?  7:45.  That’s right.  Not even eight o’clock. This is ridiculous!  I’m going to have to do something about this.  Except if I do, waking up for work on Monday is going to be horrible.  So maybe I won’t.  But still, 7:45.  It makes me feel so … old.  Like a senior citizen.  Next thing you know I’m going to be heading down to the buffet place at 4 in the afternoon to eat dinner early before I turn in at 8pm, muttering things under my breath about these young whippersnappers and the outlandish hours they keep. Staying out until 10pm – the idea!

Frankly, I don’t need anything else to make me feel old these days.  At the moment I’m sitting in my chair by the front window, knitting a baby sweater, with a hot water bottle on my lap (it’s bloody cold in the house just now), a shawl wrapped around my shoulders, and my hair tucked up in a bun.  All you’d need to do is silver the hair, and you’d have the picture of someone’s sweet little old granny.  I once had a guy tell me that he thought I’d be just as cute when I was old as I am now (and he did think I was pretty cute), so perhaps this isn’t so bad, but still.

I feel like most of my blog posts lately have been about job stuff, and how everything is changing, and how stressed I am.  Unfortunately, that’s still pretty much how my life is going lately.  Some days I leave the house before 8am and don’t come back again until after 10 or 11.  Wednesdays especially have been marathons – going from one work to the other, and then to tutoring, and then (if I’m lucky and tutoring doesn’t go long) to dancing.  This doesn’t leave a whole lot of room for thinking about non-job related things.  Plus, there have been small hints dropped at a couple of my jobs that they would love for me to come in for a few additional hours, you know, if I didn’t have anything else to do.  I really want to do it, partly because it would mean more money, and partly because it would perhaps help increase the chances of this job becoming more than part time, but the thought of all the coordination and explaining and things that would require makes my head hurt.  After all the arranging I had to do to take a week off of two of my jobs to do the training for the third, I don’t think I’m up for doing that again quite yet.

However, on Thursday I did go to a meeting for my first job where I was handed a large box full of information on the benefits I now qualify for, plus a bunch of forms to fill out and turn back in.  So this weekend one of the things I’m doing is deciding which health insurance plan I want, and filling out all the forms so that I can turn them in on Monday.  And about two weeks after that, I’ll have my insurance card and I can actually go see a doctor for the first time in far too long.

And now I’m having my first relatively quiet weekend in quite some time.  Hopefully being home more will give me time to catch up on some of the house projects I’ve been letting slide, like bringing in my house plants (did I mention that we had our first frost last night?  yeah…) and, you know, sewing a bridesmaids dress.  Plus there’s a couple of movies I’ve had out from Netflix for far too long, and a couple of other projects that it would be nice to get off my plate.  Maybe I’ll even have time to photograph some of the excessively cute baby knitting I’ve been doing for you!  Who knows?  It could happen.

