Tags

, , , , ,

My dears, I am sick.  My vague lung irritation of last weekend has settled into my chest, and become a nasty, hacking cough accompanied by vague feverishness.  I was trying to tough it out, but then yesterday as I was leaving work I had a coughing fit so bad I literally could not finish a sentence.  What made it worse is that this was in the middle of trying to tell one of my new bosses an amusing anecdote.  Total anecdote fail, right there.  I’d already skipped dancing to stay home and not infect people, and then I ended up skipping TOT too.  When I woke up this morning, still coughing and with a fever headache, I decided to throw in the towel and stay home with my orange juice and decongestants and try to get over this once and for all.

We’ll see how it goes.

To make things even more interesting, when I came downstairs to e-mail my various bosses to let them know I wouldn’t be coming in, I discovered that one of my roommates apparently caught their foot in my netbook’s power cord, yanking it brutally out and destroying it in the process.  Then they tried to jam it back in, and put the whole thing on the coffee table as if nothing had happened.  Luckily the netbook was fully charged when this happened, so I was still able to e-mail my bosses, and then get on Amazon to order a new one.  Still, it looks like I won’t be able to indulge in the traditional sick day activity of Mucking About Online, which stinks.  Also, I just realized that I won’t be able to read books on my computer either, which means I’m going to be limited to the books that are actually in the house in printed form.  The horror!

Also, I need to go grocery shopping.  I’ve been thinking longing thoughts about chicken soup, but all the steps required to procure the chicken, then prepare it, then make the soup make me want to go take a nap.  Why can’t foodstuffs be magically delivered to my kitchen via chute, like in this vintage cartoon of the world of the future?  We’ve got everything else they described, so why not that?  Unless they were really foretelling pizza delivery?  And they do put chicken on pizza.  It’s totally the same thing, right?

Anyway, it’s looking like a rather dreary day.  So you guys should cheer me up!  Leave me jokes, or cheering things, or recipes for chicken soup.  And maybe my battery will last long enough that I’ll be able to actually read them!

