Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I’ve been watching movies lately.  This has been a change.  I haven’t really watched many movies since things got crazy before Sae’s wedding.  I used to put movies or TV show DVDs on while I was working on a knitting or hand sewing project, but though I’ve been very busy in the months since then, it hasn’t been with things that allowed for movie watching.  But somehow this weekend I ended up watching  a movie almost every day.  It was pretty sweet.

The first movie was at work on Friday.  It was the last day of the second in command at my new work, so they were having a good-bye luncheon.  They invited me to come, and I cheerfully said I would, though I figured it would be the usual awkward speeches, etc.  But I was so wrong – it turned out to so much more than I ever would have dreamed.

You see, it seems that they and this guy had a running joke going for over a year about the movie Iron Eagle.  It’s a ridiculous 1986 teen flick that’s something like a low-budget mashup of Star Wars and Top Gun.  Very low budget.  Apparently he saw it when he was a teenager, and it made an impression on him.  So for his going away luncheon, the department ordered in pizza, and they watched the movie.  With commentary.  And fast-forwarding to the best scenes.  And rewinding the most ridiculous bits to watch again.  It was wonderful.  I laughed until I cried, then I laughed until I cried again.  I don’t think I’ve ever had so much fun at work.

Then on Saturday AnniPotts and Indy came over, and we ended up watching You Kill Me, and obscure movie populated with a breathtakingly star-studded cast.  It’s all about a hit man for a small time mob family in Buffalo, NY, played by Ben Kingsley.  He’s also an alcoholic.  When his drinking makes him miss carrying out an important hit, he gets sent out to San Francisco to dry out and get his life together.  It’s a gorgeous black comedy about addiction and recovery and living an imperfect life.  I loved it.  Not only did it give me a new favorite quote (“Here’s to granting others the serenity to change the things you cannot accept.  And the courage to accept large amounts of change serenely. And the wisdom to know the difference.”), but it led me to discover a new favorite jazz singer: Molly Johnson.  Her song If You Know Love was played over the credits, and has been in my head ever since.

Then yesterday, I decided to finally sit down and watch the movie I’ve had out from Netflix forever: Les Visiteurs.  It’s a very silly comedy starring Jean Reno about a medieval nobleman who gets accidentally transported 1000 years into the future where he meets up with his descendants and has mad hijinks.  They remade it as an American version a few years later, but the remake was never as good as the original.  I watched it long ago, but I was wondering if it really was as good as I remembered.  And it was.  Jean Reno is one of my favorite actors at any time, but the utterly transcendent glow that he brings to his face when his character sees his precious descendants just makes me go all gooey (and also think fondly of Sae’s Baby Schmoo – yes, I know I’m ridiculous).

In other news, autumn decided to descend on us this weekend like a ton of bricks.  It’s ridiculous.  Going from heat warnings to needing a sweater within 24 hours?  Good grief.

