Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Do you guys remember my Fantasy Baseball Team?  The one that I was going to stock entirely with hotties and guys with interesting names?  The one I had no expectations of actually winning anything?  Yeah, we just finished first in our division, second in the whole league, and we’re in the playoffs.  It’s pretty sweet.  It was an exciting season too.  Originally I had been content to piddle along in second place, not really paying much attention, happy with being moderately successful.  And then I realized that if things continued, the only way I was going to make playoffs was in the Consolation Bracket.  And, well, I mean, there’s just something about that name, The Consolation Bracket.  As if my team were some sort of weak willed sissies who would need a pat on the head and a lollipop to console them for not being the best.  I couldn’t have that!  So I started playing a little more agressively, dropping some guys, picking up others, and before I knew it, I was on top.  Even then, it was a close fight.  The owner of the Albany Newbie Aerials (the team I’d unseated) wasn’t about to go down without a fight!  Things were close, but I managed to hold on to my lead by the skin of my teeth.  And now I’m in the playoffs, playing the Cincinnati Tuckturn Kings.  Right now they’re calling it 5-4 in my favor, but we’ll see how that holds up as the week goes on.  All I really wanted was to not be in the Consolation Bracket, but wouldn’t it be awesome if I won it all?

In other news, on Saturday the family got together to help put together The Duchess’s wedding invitations.  Indy designed and illustrated them, and let me tell you, they’re gorgeous.  She’s promised to give me good pictures of the finished product, so hopefully I’ll be able to show you guys sometime soon.  I spent most of my time talking music with The Duchess and 007.  It turns out he’s got a weakness for old 80s pop, particularly The Human League, which I never, ever would have guessed!  Also, Sae brought with her the first ultrasound pictures of Baby Schmoo, which is what I think we’re calling our new little niece or nephew to be.  I’ve never seen a cuter little blob in my life!  Seriously, I nearly started crying.  It was wonderful.

My big project this weekend was an attempt to de-dustify our house.  My allergies and asthma have been completely crazy for the last two weeks.  I think it’s a combination of the pesticide and the fact that we stirred up every particle of dust that ever was in the house (and our house is always dusty) while we were prepping.  So Saturday I dusted and swept and dust mopped, and then shook all my cloths out outside and went back in to do it again until the house didn’t seem dusty anymore.  I figure that as the dust settles from all the sweeping there will be more dusting and dust mopping to do, but maybe if I wipe things off often enough over the next few days I can get the dust level in the house back down to an acceptable level.  Already I can tell a difference.  This morning when I woke up, I didn’t have a sore throat from drainage for the first time in quite a while.  Of course, I had to take my asthma inhaler this morning after a rigorous round of editing financial document pdf’s, but still.  No sore throat is pretty nice.

It’s been two weeks now, and I think I still haven’t gotten any bites.  Every time I get a mosquito bite I get so jumpy, and obsess over it until I’m absolutely sure of its origin.  Right now I have a bite on the back of my leg that I’m 98% sure is mosquito, but that 2% is making me nervous.  It’s also been interesting adjusting to life with most of my stuff in storage.  For example, I meant to save out a few basic pairs of shoes, but somehow all of them got bagged up except for one pair of black sandals and a pair of white flip flops.  So those are the only shoes I’ve been wearing for the last two weeks.  I didn’t manage to get my shoes into the freezer last Monday either, so that means at least another week of nothing but sandals or flip flops (assuming Rosie or Johnnycakes don’t get their stuff in the freezer first tonight, and that I can find my bag of shoes).  They’re great shoes, and the weather’s been lovely, so it hasn’t bothered me too much.  Still, I’m starting to get really tired of them!

A few of my sewing supplies come out of the freezer tonight!  I can’t wait to sew something again.

