Tags

, , , , ,

It’s been a long time since I showed you guys any of my knitting, particularly any that wasn’t white.  Rest assured, I have definitely been knitting!  I haven’t had as much time to spend on it as I’d like, so it’s been slower going than usual, but I do have just a few pretty things to show you.

First up is my Joie du Printemps mittens.  I started these in February and finished them sometime in March.  Well, mostly finished, anyway.  I don’t count a project really finished until the ends have been woven in and it’s blocked.  Considering how much I hate weaving in ends, this can delay finish times by quite a bit!

But in the meantime it sure is pretty!

I also finished this set of owl fingerless gloves.  These are destined for The Young Queen, just as soon as I (you guessed it) weave the ends in.  I particularly like this set because one is blue with grey, and the other is grey with blue.  The pattern is Owlmittens by Spillyjane, and the yarn is Nancy’s Knit Knacks Digit Heather in Blue Mist and Pewter.

And then, while we were on Family Vacation, I discovered that I didn’t have the right chart with me to finish knitting the mitten project I’d brought along (I’ll have to show you those mittens another time since they would not show up for the photo call this afternoon).  So I started another pair of mittens.

These are the Ruba’iyat Mittens by Heather Desserud (who also designed the La Joie du Printemps mittens), knit in Indiecita Alpaca Soft, a pure alpaca yarn that I bought at our local Farmers Market.

When I was thinking about making these mittens, I had decided that they would be Manly Mittens, suitable for giving to brothers, or perhaps even brothers-in-law.  However, now that I see how they’re turning out, they are so soft and thick, the alpaca so plush beneath my fingers, and the quiet elegance of the colors interacting so gorgeously with the pattern, that I am strongly tempted to keep them for myself.

I’ve also been working on a few simple lace projects.  This is one of three Wisps, commissioned by Aunt M.  It’s not blocked yet (blocking will make it open up a lot and become even more lacey) but I like how it turned out.

I’m about half done with the second.  It moves quickly when I have time to work on it, just there hasn’t been much time!  I think I’ll have to work on that.

