Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

It is ridiculously hot, and is going to continue to be ridiculously hot for days.  I have no AC either in my home or my car, so I’m feeling every degree of this humidity-enhanced warmth.  So far I’ve been able to manage with the help of many tall glasses of ice water, and the judicious use of fans.  Still, the next few days are going to be brutal.  I figure that at some point here I’ll throw in the (sweat-soaked) towel and head for my nearest air conditioned bookstore.  But I’m trying to put that off as long as I can.

I do have some good news.  Wednesday morning The Beautiful T gave birth to her and MDoS’s firstborn daughter, a lovely little scrap of a thing whom I have not managed to see yet.  I have seen her parents – MDoS came to AnniPott’s birthday brunch yesterday, and then later we saw The Beautiful T at 6pm Mass.  There was a plan to go take a peek at the baby after Mass, but that was scrapped.  Mass was enough to wear our new mother out, so she wasn’t up for more visitors.  But I have hopes that sometime in the next few days I’ll be able to go see her.  If not, there’s always her Baptism on Sunday.  And now that I know that she’s a girl, I can finally start my baby knits for her!

The biggest even this weekend was AnniPott’s birthday on Saturday.  She started it off with coffee down at the Farmers Market.  We had a lot of fun wandering up and down the long market checking out the stalls.  Boy-O, Rosie and Indy came too, and all of us ended up hanging out at the tables at the end, drinking coffee and enjoying the morning.  Later that evening AnniPotts went to see Some Like It Hot down at the Victoria (they show classic movies on the weekends during the summer).  I took a pass on that – I’ve been having kinda nasty headaches lately.  I think it’s a combination of the weather and allergies, but regardless of the source, it kept me in on Saturday night.

Sunday afternoon was AnniPotts’ brunch.  This ended up being somewhat more low key than I had anticipated.  AnniPotts had been talking about organizing a pie fight for her birthday, which then got changed to a water fight (much less clean up).  The logistics for that started to get too complicated, so even that plan had to be shelved until a later date.  I was a little sad – yesterday would have been the perfect day for a water fight.  But I’ve resolved that we’re going to have a pie fight, and a water fight this summer, no matter what.

I had been thinking that helping me organize a pie fight might be an excellent use of my Minions, but then today Mai posted a link about yarnbombing (when people decorate lamp posts, fences, etc. with hand knitted thingies) on my facebook wall.  This makes the second time this month that someone has posted something about that on my wall (Sugar Ray also posted something), and I’m starting to think that this might Mean Something.  Clearly I am meant to do a little yarnbombing.

Actually, I’ve known about yarnbombing for a long time, almost as long as I’ve been knitting.  I think it’s kinda great, and at different times I’ve had schemes to do a little tagging of my own.  The problem is that, with so many weddings and babies and Christmas coming (Christmas knitting starts in June.  Really.) plus a few knitting commissions (and I swear that this is the year that I’m going to knit myself a sweater, come what may!), I haven’t had time to knit anything purely frivolous.  Today the answer to my difficulty came to me.  Clearly what I need to do is teach my Minions how to knit, they can help me knit up gorgeous knit graffiti, and then I can yarnbomb to my heart’s content.

Mwahahahahahahaha!!!!!

