Tags

, , , , ,

This Sunday our own Fleur received her First Communion.  It was a great day, and she looked beautiful.  Afterwards, when everyone was snapping pictures, I happened to catch this video of her twirling in her cupcake of a First Communion dress:

A little while later, I was able to give her the shawl I knit for her.  She was pretty thrilled, and even consented to pose for a picture with it (Fleur really doesn’t like getting her picture taken).

I’m feeling a little smug that, although she couldn’t wait to get out of her First Communion dress, she also couldn’t wait to start wearing her shawl.

This is a better look at the shawl as it was being blocked.  The pattern is Swallowtail by Evelyn Clark (on ravelry here), and the yarn is Knit Picks Shimmer.

And the lily of the valley edging that made me choose it for her.  I’m kinda loving how it turned out.

Also, I can’t believe I’m actually done with all my wedding knitting!  On Thursday during Theology On Tap I finished binding off Sunny’s wedding shawl.  My next project is finishing The Young Queen’s owl mitts.  They’re another color work project in a lovely subtly heathered blue and gray.  It’s kinda wonderful to be knitting with actual colors again!

