Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

The Dayton Swing Smackdown is this weekend, and I think I’m finally starting to get excited about it.  This is unusual for me.  Most years I’d have been dropping hints about it for months, so excited I could barely wait for the weekend to come.  This year, though, there have been other things distracting me, and I wasn’t coaching the UD team (they decided they wanted to do it mostly on their own this year), so I didn’t have as much to get excited about.  Plus, for quite a while I wasn’t sure that I was going to be able to afford to go at all.  However, last week Bounce approached me with a volunteer opportunity.  If I would be willing to work the desk quite a bit of the weekend, and help out in some other ways, I could attend for free.  Free was right about what I could afford, so I said yes before he even finished his sentence.

And then, today I found out that my friend Sky is going to be there.  I haven’t seen him since he left Dayton for his dream job in Washington State last September.  Actually, it’s going to be a little interesting getting Sky here.  He texted me this afternoon asking if there was anyone from Chicago coming down for the Smackdown – the train he’s taking east from Washington has been delayed because of a derailment down the line, he might not make his connection in Chicago, and he’s hoping that he might be able to hitch a ride with someone from Chicago so he can still make it to Dayton Friday.  So far I’ve asked Bounce to check the registration list for any possibilities, and contacted a friend who lives in northern Indiana to see if she might be able to help, but I don’t know if that’s going to work out.  So we’ll see what happens.

The other big thing about this weekend is that Peter Strom and Naomi Uyama are teaching.  I’ve had a dancer crush on Peter for a long time.  Naomi is pretty awesome too, and I’m looking forward to learning from them a lot.  Plus, there are a lot of good dancers coming into town, so I’m looking forward to some good dances.  I’ll have to be very focused on getting my dances in.  I’m going to be working the desk a huge chunk of the weekend, so the times when I’ll be free to hit the dance floor will be pretty precious.  If you want a dance with me this weekend, and see me actually not sitting at the registration desk, grab me while you can!

In the meantime, I think I’d better go do some laundry so I can have some clean clothes to dance in…

