Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

It’s ironic – I spent the two days we were iced in feeling great, if a little bored, and then right when it’s time to get back to normal life, my stomach decides to act up on me.  Sigh.  At least it seems to be passing off quickly, and I know my boss will let me make up the missed hours.  But still – I was really looking forward to getting out of the house today.  All told, we have come through the Great Blizzard Snopocalypse Whatever in pretty good shape.  The cupboard is pretty bare (definitely time to go grocery shopping) and outside is strewn with broken tree limbs, but we’re all essentially ok here.  I will state that perhaps right before you’re about to be iced in with your roommates for two days is not the time to make a huge, delicious pot of beans, but we live and learn.

In other news, I’ve been working away on Sae’s wedding veil, and I’m starting to get a little worried.  I think I’m running out of yarn much, much too soon.  When I bought the yarn, I was under the impression that it was 1200 yards.  But there’s no way I’ve knit 12oo yards worth (my mom’s Queen Anne’s Lace shawl didn’t use that much, and this is nowhere near as large), and the ball is almost used up.  I don’t want to think I was cheated, but perhaps the seller’s yardage meter wasn’t working properly.  I still have another repeat of the body pattern, the neck shaping, and the deep border to go – at least half the shawl.  I’ve talked to The Young Queen about perhaps going back to the small shop in the tiny Wisconsin town where I bought it, but I’m not sure if they have any left.  Instead I’m thinking of perhaps switching yarns.  I bought 880 yards (actually, I should check – it might be 1320 yards) of white lace weight yarn to knit Fleur’s First Communion veil, even though I knew I wouldn’t need nearly that much.  The pattern for Sae’s veil calls for 900 yards, so maybe I could knit it from that (and maybe omit a repeat or something to make sure I don’t run out) and then use the baby angora I’ve been using for Sae’s veil for Fleur’s First Communion veil.  It’s rather round-robin-y, but it might work.  The only problem is that it means starting completely over on Sae’s veil, which is not a thrilling thought at all.

It looks like this weekend will see the return of more winter fun.  A bunch of us are planning to get together at Englewood Metropark on Saturday to see if we can recreate the joy of last weekend.  This time I’m hoping to raid Mom & Dad’s garage for more sleds, and Fitz is bringing snowshoes from the Arboretum.  There’s also First Saturday Women’s Mass & Fellowship before that, and then the next day will be Family Birthday Brunch for The Absent-Minded Professor, Mr. T and Fleur (the first time the latter two have had their own Family Birthday Brunch), and then the Superbowl.  Good times!

