Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

This morning I joined a Guild, which I thought was both awesome and hilarious.  Of course, it was the Dayton Knitting Guild, but still.  I’m a Guild Member.  Next I need to find a Cathedral being built so that we can sponsor a chapel, and then we need to pick a Feast Day so we can have a processsion on our way to our special Mass in our special chapel.  We can knit our own banner.  It would be fun!  Actually, I wouldn’t put it past these ladies to have already done that several times, and decided to let it go this year because, well, that’s so five hundred years ago, dear.

You might have picked up that I enjoyed myself immensely.  It’s a huge treat for me to get to hang out with other knitters.  I don’t have very many of them in my life.  My friend who got me started knitting lives a couple of time zones away.  My sister crochets, but she’s one of those people who only does one project at a time, and (get this) waits until the first one is completely done before she starts a new one.  (I know.  I don’t understand it either.)  Sometimes when I go to yarn shops I get to have some knitterly conversation with the yarn shop owner, but since I do most of my yarn buying online, that happens maybe twice a year.  If I’m lucky.  I make all my non-knitting friends admire my knitting because I must have some knitterly support (also because I’m a show-off), but it doesn’t quite fill the void.  And given that I was pretty much requested and required to attend by Madame President herself, I figured they wouldn’t mind if I showboated a little.  (Also, isn’t it tranditional to produce a masterwork when joining a Guild?)  I brought with me three completed lace shawls, Sae’s veil, and the Winter Wonder mittens I’ve been working on (now completely done with the first, and about 1/3 done with the second).  It was kind of awesome.  The ladies just couldn’t seem to get over the fact that I taught myself to knit, that I’ve been knitting only a couple of years, and that I’m doing projects like this.  I don’t know that I really deserve that much credit.  Between Ravelry and the rest of the internet, it’s not hard to find clear directions to do just about anything, and not being around other knitters, I didn’t know what was considered difficult, or what I should be intimidated by.  Everything seemed equally difficult, so I picked projects that appealed to me, followed the directions, and ended up with cool things.  While I don’t mind the positive reinforcement, it surprises me that the ladies would find this so exciting and surprising.  Is what I did really so unusual?

In other news, Sunday was Boy-O’s 19th birthday.  In our family, the custom is that the birthday person gets to pick whatever they want for the birthday meal.  This year, Boy-O decided that he wanted Chinese food for his birthday meal.  He and Mariah researched recipes, and ended up with two recipes for Lo Mein, another for a bean noodle dish (I have no idea what it was called, but it was darn tasty), and a recipe for Beef & Broccoli that Rosie made.  Indy baked a big chocolate chip cookie cake, which I decorated with whipped cream.  Everything was delicious.  Mom made her Vietnamese Stuffing too, which was great. 

The next family meal that’s coming up is going to be a joint celebration of The Absent-Minded Professor’s, Mr. T’s, and Fleur’s birthdays.  This is the first time we’ve celebrated Mr. T and Fleur’s birthdays (this time last year Sae and Mr. T had only been dating a few months), so it’s been fun introducing them to all our traditions.  Fleur in particular seemed to need some time to think about what exactly she would like to eat.  So far we’ve established that she would like cake with strawberries and whipped cream, but what kind of cake hasn’t been settled.  Indy and I also talked with her about what kind of clothes she would like for the doll she got for Christmas.  So far it looks like I’m going to be making a very small peasant blouse, and a small pair of cargo pants with a drawstring waist.  And maybe some shoes.  We’ll see about the shoes.

