Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

So this conversation happened last night, and I thought I’d share:

Me: “This is my new facebook status: ‘Bernadette wouldn’t mind getting the keys to a shiny new Australia.  Just putting that out there.'”
Johnnycakes: “Well, if you want that, you’re going to need to find yourself a laundry buddy.”
Me: “That’s my problem, I need to go to laundromats to do my laundry.  There are no mad scientists in our basement.”
Johnnycakes: “There ought to be some mad scientists in our basement.”
Me: “We’ll have to invite some over and lock them down there.”
Johnnycakes: “I like the way your mind works.”

In other news, the last few days have been rather 14-alicious.  For those of you who have no idea who I’m talking about, 14 is an old friend, dear both to me and to my family.  He was a huge part of our lives.  He starred in our movies, played guitar at Mass with Dad, and was one of the few people to figure out that if they could catch me on AIM while I was at work, I would be happy to talk for hours.  He was part of our family (sometime I have to tell you about the time he ripped the buttons off his shirt while doing dishes at Mom & Dad’s house), and one of my best friends.  We would have been happy to keep him in Dayton forever, but God had other plans.  In April of 2007 he headed off to become a Jesuit.  This visit is the first time I’ve seen him since.

It’s been very good having him here.  You know, there are some people that, it doesn’t matter how long it’s been, as soon as you see them again it’s like they never left.  14 is like that.  It seems quite natural to have him here, going to dinner at Mom & Dad’s house, helping me carry the groceries in, meeting friends at Dublin Pub.  Tonight he’s off having dinner with his old boss, so I’m taking the time to do things like, you know, laundry (not so easy to fit in when you have a heavy hanging-out-with-old-friends schedule).  Though he’ll probably be back afterwards to finish watching Despicable Me (this is only the second kid’s cartoon comedy we’ve watched so far – I think we’re doing pretty well), so maybe I should go cycle that laundry, huh.

In other, other news, it seems that the answer to feeling pressured about knitting projects is, um, to start a new one.  You see, I’ve been dieing to knit Scandinavian-style colorwork mittens for months now.  I keep finding more and more patterns I want to make.  I have the yarn right here, all ready to use.  I even have cold hands (my own, The Young Queen’s, my Guru’s) ready to wear them.  Yet I’ve been conscientiously refusing to cast on, responsibly reminding myself that other projects have to come first.  Friday night when I came home from work, however, I had had enough.  It was time to stop being such a Knitting Good Girl.  I mean, what’s the fun in being responsible all the time?  I pulled out my (already printed) patterns, wound up my skeins of yarn, and cast on some Winter Wonder Mittens.  So far I’ve gotten up to the thumb on the right mitten, and it’s gorgeous. I’m using Knit Picks Stroll Tonal Deep Waters for the design color and Knit Picks Bare fingering weight for the background. The deep blue has these subtle variations which make the design just glow. I love it. And now my other projects don’t feel nearly so loom-y. Good times.

