Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

So I think the Christmas rush is starting to get to me.  It’s not so much in my personal life (though the pressure to KNIT ALL THE TIME in order to finish my Christmas presents is starting to feel a little, well, much) as at work.  Somehow I, the It Aint Christmas Til Christmas Eve Dammit person, ended up being in charge of All Things Christmas for my division.  This means that I’ve spent the last couple of weeks addressing Christmas cards, hassleing people to come sign Christmas cards, making arrangements for the Christmas luncheon, designing the invitations for the luncheon, distributing them to all the 70 or so people who must be invited, not leaving out a single retiree or temporary student employee, tracking RSVPs to the luncheon, collecting signed Christmas cards, stuffing them in their envelopes to be mailed (the paper cuts! Oh, the paper cuts!), hassleing people to actually RSVP to the luncheon, providing luncheon estimates to the caterer etc. on top of my other, regular work.  Plus there was a Holiday Carry-In in there too (I made my Caramelized Garlic Mashed Potatoes, which were a hit), and putting up the Division Christmas Tree and other Christmas decorations.  And then, just when the Christmas Luncheon was finally over (and went extremely smoothly, I must say), and the last Christmas card sealed and in the Out Box, I get an e-mail from another division asking if I’d like to pick up a few more hours doing their Christmas cards for them.  And so help me, I need the hours.  So now I’m doing another 250 Christmas cards.

Friends, this is why I never send Christmas cards of my own.  I love it when other people send me them.  I like seeing the pictures of their kids.  I even kinda like the form letters full of superficial news.  But when I come home at the end of the day, I’m just done.

However, what I’m not done with is Christmas presents, and time is rapidly running out.  I can’t tell you too much about them yet, but there is one I can show you.

This is the doll Indy and I are making for Fleur.  You may recognize the cover on the bed – it’s the coverlet I showed you a while back.  I knit it using a technique called double knitting, where each side of the fabric is a mirror image of the other.  It turned out just the perfect size for the doll and the doll bed Indy found.  She had been planning on building one herself, but the Christmas crunch is starting to get to her a little bit too.  So when she saw a bed that was just the right size at a thrift store, she jumped on it.  That’s Indy’s hands, by the way, holding the doll and the bed.

The doll is not quite complete, by the way.  It needs more hair, and also a face.  Indy had rushed the doll through because I needed it to knit my next contribution to the project:

A sweater!  I’ve been working on this all week, and I’m very pleased with how it’s turning out.  This picture is actually quite outdated – yesterday I put the stitches for the sleeves on holders and joined the sweater body together, and am almost done with that part.  Then I just have to pick up the sleeve stitches and knit the sleeves.

This is a better look at the colors of the yarn.  Unfortunately the light was fairly dim (we haven’t had many bright days lately!), so the colors look much more muted than they are.  But I’m loving how this yarn is knitting up.  It’s a short skein I got on sale from an independent dyer on Etsy a long time ago.  I think it’s turning out lovely.

Frankly, though, there’s a part of me that doesn’t really care how it turns out as long as it gets finished in time!  I have a lot of my presents done, but there’s still several to go, and today I realized that I still haven’t knit my presents for my Boss and the Big Boss.  They’ve both been very, very good to me this year, so I definitely don’t want to forget them.  It’s only a little present – a little knitted ornament in UD colors since both of them are big Flyers fans – but even that takes some time to do.  Sigh.

