Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I was trying to figure out how an entire week went by, and I didn’t even really notice that I missed my usual Wednesday post.  Was I just going on auto-pilot, strolling along (La la la!) without noticing how time went by?  And then I realized, no, there has been no strolling.  Nope, I’ve been busy.  I’ve been busy at work, getting the division Christmas cards together, the Christmas Luncheon menu finalized, designing the invitation, and sending it out to the 75 or so people who need to be invited, and busy at home working like crazy on a couple of knitting commissions.  First there was Little Miss Stinker’s Christmas stocking, and then baby buntings that The Beautiful T asked me to make for her best friend’s new baby.  Frankly I’m loving these buntings.  They’re essentially large, warm sacks you can pop a baby in, and suddenly the kid looks just like an Anne Geddes picture.  It’s rather amazing.  Plus, working with bulky and super bulky weight yarn means they go so, so fast.  When you’re used to knitting lace, it’s almost miraculously quick knitting.

The irony to all this Christmas preparation is that I’m a big It’s Not Christmas Until Christmas Eve kinda girl.  You don’t decorate, you don’t start singing Christmas carols, you don’t start celebrating Christmas until it really is Christmas.  Of course, once it’s Christmas you celebrate as hard as you can for the entire Christmas season, which goes until Epiphany on January 6th.  But until Christmas Eve, it’s not Christmas, it’s Advent.  We’re waiting.  And hoping.  And preparing.  It’s not time to celebrate yet.  (Unless Mariah Carey’s All I Want For Christmas Is You is on, and then you should dance.  But that goes all year round, so it doesn’t really count.)  Sooner or later I’m going to have to put up the Christmas decorations here in the office (The Shy Engineer is already pushing for them), but I’ll wait as long as I can.  At least we have a nativity set now to go along with the Christmas tree.  Sigh.

In other news, my Makeup Experiment continues, and continues to be very interesting.  I never would have thought that a little extra color on my face would have such an effect on others, particularly on the men in my life.  It’s very striking.  Actually, I think they’re not really responding to me, but to the makeup.  I mean, I’m the exact same woman I was two weeks ago.  My clothes haven’t changed, my hair is the same.  The only difference is that now I’m wearing colored goop around my eyes and on my lips.  For example, Monday night my lipstick got taken for a walk all around UD campus by a young man who suddenly wanted to talk Catholic theology.  I doubt it would ever have occurred to him that he really, really wanted to talk theology just then with the no-makeup me, but Monday night he did.  Unfortunately, his idea of talking theology involved making wannabe profound statements about ensoulment, and I’m sorry, but after you’ve read a little Aquinas you have a whole new standard for what constitutes trippy statements about souls.  Still, it was fun, until it started raining, and then it was definitely time to go home.

So far I’ve considered this reaction to my makeup to be hilarious, but I’m starting to get a little tired of it.  There is a big part of me that wishes they were responding to me, not just the colored stuff on my face. If I have to paint myself up to get their attention, then perhaps I don’t want it.  But another part of me points out that men are visual, and need help sometimes to see what’s important.  If these guys weren’t interested in me as a person they wouldn’t be looking at me enough to notice that I’m now wearing lipstick.  And it’s true that the guys who have responded the strongest are those who were already my friends.  But still, I’m starting to feel a little conflicted about it.  I’d love to hear other opinions about this subject – any thoughts?

