Tags

, , , , , , ,

Our dining room has been painted and finished for a while now, and I’m finally getting around to putting up art and adding some other finishing touches.

This is the corner by the kitchen with one of my shelves of cookbooks, and the newly installed Knitting Girl Missed Connections illustration by Sophie Blackall I was so sweetly gifted with back in February.

I love how the colors look against the brilliant blue of the wall.

I think my star garlands looks beautiful against the wall too.  I love how this lighting fixture too.  It used to be nasty and corroding, but I cleaned it up, spray painted it white, and suddenly it was beautiful.

This is how it looks from the other side, against the rest of the room.  The walls are pale blue with white trim, and certain areas picked out in dark grey.  The doors in the background are one of the set of doors leading into the sun room/sewing room/work room.

I’ve also been putting some of my stained glass pieces in the window.  This bird used to be in the window of my paternal grandmother’s kitchen.

This little piece was made by my maternal grandfather as an anniversary present for my maternal grandmother.  He only started working with stained glass and enamels after he retired (he worked for years and years as a chemical engineer in an iron foundry), so they had been married at that time for over thirty years.  It’s one of my most prized possessions.

The next step for the dining room is to sew the Roman shades for the window.  It’s on my to-do list, along with lots and lots of other things.  I don’t know when I’ll get to it, but I’m sure I’ll have pictures for you when it’s done.

