Tags

, , , , , , , ,

The hardest blog posts to write are the ones with bad news.  I don’t like writing about bad things, partly because I don’t think people are very interested in reading me whine about stuff, and partly because writing so publically about bad stuff leaves me feeling exposed in a way that writing about the good things doesn’t. So I tend to focus on the good things, skate over the bad things, and life goes on.  And it’s not like my bad news this time is so horrible.  The long and the short of it is that I didn’t get the job.  It was down to two candidates, and they decided to go with the one who was not me.  Which means, I guess, that my Fairy Corporate Recruiter Godmother wasn’t so much a Fairy Godmother as just a Corporate Recruiter after all.  She called yesterday afternoon just as I was leaving work to give me the bad news.  I was cheerful and professional on the phone, of course, but I cried all the way home.  I had tried so hard not to get my hopes up, but I couldn’t help hoping at least a little.  The Corporate Recruiter said that if the other candidate didn’t make it though the next stage of the employment process (there is still a background check, credit check, and psychological testing to go) I might still get the job, but I don’t think I’m going to hold my breath for that one.

And then, today I applied for another job and my application was rejected immediately with an automated message saying that I didn’t meet the criteria.  It didn’t say why, and it wouldn’t let me review my application to see if maybe I’d left something off or answered a question wrong.  So, yeah, I’m feeling pretty discouraged at the moment.

Sigh.

On the other hand, there have been some nice things lately.  I heard from Sky, who is loving his job out in Washington State.  Apparently they have mountains out there, and they are beautiful.  Also, I got to hang out with Johnsy some yesterday, which was wonderful.  It’s been a long time.  Both of us are pretty awful at keeping in touch with people (she’s the only other person I know who also has a problem with her voicemail being chronically full), so we both have good intentions and think of each other a lot, but are really awful at doing something about it.  But she came over yesterday after work, brought me a wooden chair she’d picked up for me somewhere, and we were able to catch up with each other’s lives.  And then, at swing dancing on Wednesday, I was totally surprised by the return of the inimitable Hatman!  He and I learned how to swing dance at almost exactly the same time.  He dated one of my very good friends, and was in the first movie we made.  Then he was transferred by the Air Force to Germany, and we lost contact for a while.  He’s just been posted back to Dayton along with his wife, and came back to his old swing dance stomping grounds.  It was so much fun to see him again.  I hope we’ll be seeing him a lot more now that he’s back in Dayton.

So, you know, good things.

