Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

My dears, it is That Time again.  And no, I don’t mean time to figure out a Halloween costume (I think I’m going with Swing Snark’s idea – normal clothes plus a button that says “Nudists Local No. 793 ON STRIKE.”), or time to start breaking out the hot chocolate in the evening, or even time to jump in piles of leaves (though that’s not a bad idea at all).  No, it’s Time to write/edit my own personal contribution to the Great Family Christmas Wish List.  We’re doing our annual Christmas Planning Meeting on Sunday, and a few days ago Mariah e-mailed me a copy of what I had asked for last year and told me she would like me to edit it and get it back to her by today so she could have rough drafts to pass out at the planning meeting.  So without further ado, this is what I asked for last year:

  • Priority – Dance shoes, size 9 w low heel from dancestore.com 
  • Nickle plated DPN knitting needles from Knitpicks.com
  • A Food Processor
  • DVDs:  “The Mentalist”, “Hairspray”, “Pirates of Penzance” w Kevin Kline
  • “Glee” DVDs or Soundtracks
  • Headset for LG EnV Touch
  • Subscription to Martha Steward Living
  • Bee Swarm, Rabbit or Flock of Geese from Heifer International, www.heifer.org
  • Gift Cards:  KnitPicks.com, JoAnn’s, Michael’s, Meijer, zappos.com, Amazon.com, etsy.com
  • Girl Genius anything
  • Something hand made
  • Books:     Neil Gaiman: The Graveyard Book, Odd & The Frost Giants, Anansi Boys, The Blueberry Girl,  Anything by Hans Urs von Balthesar, Eric Flint’s Belisaruius series

Of those things I got the dancing shoes (thanks, Mariah!) and a few of the books.  I’ve bought a few of the others for myself (the Glee soundtracks, some of the other books).  Some things I don’t particularly want anymore.  I still like The Mentalist, but I haven’t watched it for a long time (they moved it to a time I’m never home) and I don’t feel a desire to own it anymore.  I would still quite like a food processor, and I think I’m going to add wine glasses to the list.  Almost all of my wine glasses got smashed when the cabinet they were in fell off the wall one cold November morning a few years back, and I haven’t been able to replace them.  I don’t drink very much, so I don’t notice the lack until company comes over and I’m reduced to pouring wine into tumblers because I have no other glasses for it.  So some wine glasses would be nice. 

The problem is that I’m not sure what else to add.  This comes up every year.  It’s not that I don’t want things, just that in general I don’t think about it very much.  If I can obtain something for myself, I do, and if I can’t, I move on and make do without.  I have to think for a while, try to remember back to things I might have wanted, but let go of because I knew I couldn’t afford them.  It helps that I have an Amazon wish list that I occasionally remember to add to, and then I remember things like I really want the box set of the Festival International de Jazz de Montreal.  This isn’t because I’m such a huge jazz fan (though I like it quite a bit), but because this set has one of my absolute favorite songs on it, the Madeline Peyroux version of I Wish I Could Shimmy Like My Sister Kate, the song I love so much that  every year I think of making it my costume for Halloween (nun’s costume with a nametag reading Sr. Kate, plus a willingness to shimmy on demand), and then decide not to because I’m not really all that good at shimmying (I move my shoulders entirely too much).  However, I’ve never been able to bring myself to pay $40 for essentially one song, even though I’m sure I’d find lots of other gems on it.  Still, I’ve wanted that song for years, so it would make a wonderful Christmas present. 

And then, it occurs to me that I really need an ironing board, and when I was talking to Indy she pointed out that I could use a decent rotary cutter.  I said that what I really needed was the special rulers you use with rotary cutters, and she said that if that was the case, then I also should ask for a decent sized cutting mat.  And I had to admit that it was true.  So, just in case you were wondering, here’s my 2010 Christmas Wish List:

This focus on gifts and wish lists also means that it’s time to get serious about the presents I’m intending to give.  You’ll have to wait until after Christmas to hear about most of those, since I don’t want to have any spoilers.  But I can tell you about the special present Indy and I are collaborating on for Mr. T’s daughter Fleur.  She’s seven, and loves dollhouses, especially the one Indy has been working on for the past year.  So for Christmas Sae and Indy are working together to redecorate the dollhouse Fleur already has (mostly Indy doing the work and Sae financing it), and Indy is making a special doll for Fleur.  She’s going to build a bed for the doll, and I’m knitting a coverlet for the bed, and a sweater for the doll to wear.  I may sew it a few skirts too, and there are some ambitions towards possible shoes sewn from felt, or maybe even doll socks knit from lace weight yarn on tiny, tiny needles, but I may be getting a little overambitious here.  I have to wait for the doll to be done before I can start knitting the sweater (since I’ll have to wait until then for the doll’s finished measurements), but I designed the coverlet the other night, and have started knitting.  It’s going to be beautiful!

Also, tonight I’m headed over to the Family Homestead for dinner.  Mr. T and Sae will be there, and after dinner we’re going to do our first Wedding Planning Session!  I’m so excited!  Squeee!

