Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Friday night something dreadfully exciting happened.  When I came in the back door of the Family Homestead (Mom had invited me over to dinner with our new parish priest – a very interesting young man from Uganda), Dad met me at the door.  After giving me a hug, he said, “I have something to tell you.” He looked so serious that I was worried for a moment.  Then he smiled, that little mischief smile I’ve seen all my life.  “Sae’s engaged!” he said, and I started to grin.

I have to admit, this is not totally unexpected.  I’ve liked Mr. T since I first met him the day I moved in with Rosie and Johnnycakes.  It’s been a treat watching the two of them grow closer and closer to one another, and a joy seeing how perfectly Mr. T fits in with our family.  No family party is complete without him and Fleur.  I knew that he had been ready to propose a lot earlier in the relationship (when the man knows, he knows), but Sae needed more time to be sure.  I had thought that it might happen around Christmas or maybe Thanksgiving, so I was a little surprised.  True to form, Mr. T didn’t make a big fuss about things, just called Sae out to the living room of her apartment, knelt down, asked the question, and produced the ring.  Sae said, sounding a little surprised, “And there I was, barefoot, with messy hands from cheese making.” (Making cheese is one of Sae’s hobbies.)  It was kind of adorable.

Needless to say, our dinner with the new parish priest was a little distracted.  Text messages and phone calls were flying as the news spread through the family.  Sae sent us a picture of the ring, and everyone sighed happily over it.   When I talked to AnniPotts she pointed out that now Mr. T could come with us on Family Vacation.  “Fleur too!” I said, “Can you imagine a whole week of Fleur?!” When I told Indy she shrieked and jumped with glee, and then started happily contemplating the huge pile of Martha Stewart Weddings back issues she’s accumulated.  I remembered the 1200 yards of white baby angora lace-weight thread I bought in Wisconsin, and started thinking of all the pretty wedding shawls or perhaps even veils it could make.  Poor Fr. Joshua couldn’t compete.

But then, I think we were all so happy he didn’t mind that we were rather distracted.

In other news, I had my second interview for the job my Fairy Corporate Recruiter Godmother found for me.  I think it went very well.  The two ladies I interviewed with seemed to like me very much, and at the end of the interview, asked the question I’d been hoping for: “When could you start?” They said that they still have a couple of interviews to go, but that hopefully I would hear from them at the end of this week or the beginning of the next.  So perhaps next week I might have some very good news of my own to share.  Not that it would compare with the great happiness that is Sae’s engagement, but still…

