Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

This morning, Rosie, Indy, and Boy-O headed off into the wilds of the, well, more Mid Midwest than we are to go fetch AnniPotts home from South Dakota.  She’s been there for the last two years teaching Kindergarten at a small Catholic on the Pine Ridge Indian Reservation.  She has finished her time there, and is coming home for the summer before heading off to Texas in August, where she’ll be teaching as part of the Lalanne Program.  We love having AnniPotts around, and even though we know it’s only a short time, it’s so exciting that she’s coming home to us!

Also, road trips for my family have an unfortunate tendency to become rather, um, epic.  I’ll never forget the trip to take AnniPotts out to South Dakota the first time.  It was me, the Absent-minded Professor, Mom, and AnniPotts with a van full of stuff, a car up on a towing rig that was completely destroyed by the end of our journey (the towing rig, not the car), and a laptop with a dieing battery that held our only reliable map of South Dakota.  It was kind of awesome.  I can only imagine the stories my siblings will have when they come back to us, but I know they’re going to have a lot of them!

In other news, I came home from work Wednesday to find a note on the whiteboard informing me that we now had a hole in the ceiling of the kitchen, and that the landlord’s handyman would be coming by to fix it soon, and in the meantime we couldn’t take showers.  This was all very interesting, particularly since we hadn’t had a hole in the kitchen ceiling when I left for work that morning.  When Rosie got home later that night she told me that the landlord had come around to put some stuff down the drains that was supposed to make sure they ran free.  We haven’t been having any problems with the drains, but I guess he just wanted some extra insurance.  Unfortunately, either the stuff was way too strong, or else our landlord didn’t know what he was doing (both?) and the stuff ate through one of the old pipes and came out through the kitchen ceiling.  Needless to say, the handyman has not been by since then, and it’s a little annoying to have to tramp over to either my parents’ or my sisters’ houses to get clean when we have a perfectly good shower in our own bathroom that has been put out of commission because my landlord is, well, an idiot.  I think we should get a discount on the rent for this.  Seriously.

And in other news, I’m still working on the whole they-lost-my-transcript thing.  I’ll let you know how it goes.

