Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

My family has been burglarized twice in the last week.  It’s a little shocking, and more evidence of it never rains but…, etc.  First it was AnniPotts, who came home from running an errand to find her front door open, one of her windows forced, and almost everything of value taken.  In the end she caught the burglar herself (he was so stoned he came back around), and recovered almost all of her stuff (it’s quite a story, but I think hers to tell), but then a few days ago someone broke into the Family Homestead and made off with Boy-O’s X-box and video games, plus Indy’s beloved laptop.  We’re pretty sure who did it (there’s this neighborhood boy with a grudge against Boy-O because Boy-O isn’t interested in being his best friend who we think figured out where we kept the spare house key), but we don’t have any proof and the cops aren’t going to do much beyond filing a report.  All we can do is change the locks and hope the homeowners insurance will cough up enough to replace what was taken.  In the meantime Indy is left without a tool she relied on for everything from processing her photographs (she had been doing some work as a freelance photographer) to managing her schedule and To Do list, and AnniPotts is trying to figure out how to feel safe again in her own home.  So, you know, if you could pray for them.

I’ve been thinking some about why being stolen from is so traumatic.  Some of it is the loss of your goods, and the hassle of trying to replace things that often aren’t replaceable.  However, I think a lot of the trauma comes from the betrayal of trust, the knowledge that someone deliberately did you harm.  It’s especially hard when you suspect that it was someone you know, someone you’ve been good to.  I really hope that kid wasn’t the one who stole from my family, but I have to admit I’m pretty sure it was him.  I’ve never liked him much (he kinda creeps me out), but I always tried to be nice.  Now it will be that much harder to trust the next needy, somewhat awkward kid who crosses my path.

Other than that, and this cold that’s been plaguing me, it’s been a pretty good week.  Yesterday, in particular, was a good day.  Mom had been wanting to do something with me for my birthday, so yesterday we headed out to Yellow Springs for lunch at The Winds, followed by a little used-book shopping, and then a jaunt over to the yarn store, where I discussed the possibility of teaching a class in toe-up sock knitting with The Proprietor.   It still boggles me a little that she wants me to teach, but it’s looking more and more like it will happen.  So,  you know, if you’d like to learn how to knit toe-up socks, or even how to knit period, just let me know!

When I got home I was so tired, but I had Adoration with my Catholic Life Leadership Team at 5:30.  It’s funny, but it’s always the same: before I go to Adoration I’m tired and not excited about spending an hour in prayer (unless it’s what some of us used to call “horizontal meditation”), but afterwards I feel peaceful and refreshed, and I’m very glad I went.  We finished in time for all of us to head over to Theology On Tap, where Fr. Larry Richards was speaking.  He was really, really good, and said some things I’ve been needing very much to hear.  I was also delighted to find out that we have a mutual friend.

Almost as soon as TOT was over, Rosie called and asked if I was interested in going to go see Death At A Funeral with her and Indy.  I was, and headed out right away to go pick them up.  The movie was really good, even if perhaps not quite as good as the original.  Truth is, the original was so awesome it would be difficult for a remake to even come close, so I figure they did very well.  Also, I must say that I love James Marsden.  I don’t understand how a guy as funny, talented (that voice!) and, frankly, criminally good looking as he is doesn’t get better roles.  (I mean, 27 Dresses?  Really?)  He’s one of the most underutilized actors in Hollywood.

Tonight I’m heading down to Cincinnati with The Duchess and Mariah to see An Ideal Husband at the Cincinnati Shakespeare Festival.  It’s been a while since I was down there, plus I love Oscar Wilde, so I’m looking forward to this very much.  It’s funny – I was telling Mr. Zoot about this, and he thought I was going down to Cincinnati to see a man who was an ideal husband.  And while I know a few guys whom I think would fit that bill, they’re in Wisconsin, DC, Minnesota and heaven, so I don’t think so, no.

