Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

So all the news is full of talk of the coming Snowmageddon, and my main reaction is, “I wonder whether my snow boots got moved and are at my new place, or are one of the few things still at Johnsy’s place.  Maybe I should stop by after work and check…”

Speaking of lots and lots of gleaming white stuff, you should see our dining room!  It’s amazing!  A team which included Johnnycakes, Indy, Aunt S, and myself worked into the night last night priming all the walls, trim, and ceiling.  What had been a mottled mix of fresh plaster over walls the color of rancid cream was transformed into a smooth expanse of clean white.  I wish we could go ahead and paint now (although my shoulders were so sore when I woke up this morning), but we’re going to have to wait for that.  In the meantime, I’m going to move the furniture back into the room, put books on bookshelves, and basically get stuff arranged like an actual dining room for the first time since the re-plastering started over a year ago.  I’m very excited about this, especially since some of the furniture that belongs in the dining room was shoved into the sun room, which has made completing the set up of my new work room something of a challenge.  But now we will have space, and I can set up my storage, and it will be a thing of loveliness, and a joy forever.

And speaking of loveliness, at my home at this very moment I have Season One, Volume One of Glee!, one of my favorite tv shows.  I was too tired after painting yesterday to watch it, but today I’m promising myself a nice, long session in front of the tv with the black alpaca hand warmers I’m knitting.  (Yes, I started a new project.  What can I say?  My hands were cold.)

It will be interesting to see what the weather does to the plans for this weekend.  It has been shaping up to be a very busy weekend, with a 1st birthday party for Little Miss Stinker (Hot Josh and Pixie Girl’s firstborn daughter), the monthly swing dance on Saturday, the family birthday brunch for AP on Sunday, and then the Superbowl.  We’re having the Superbowl party at the Family Homestead.  Indy is making pizzas.  I’ve invited people from my Catholic young adult group to come, but since I chose to paint last night instead of going to the meeting and repeating the invitation, I don’t know how many will actually show up.  And then I think we had a TOT Leadership Team meeting scheduled for Sunday too.  Any bets on how many of those things get canceled?  (The Superbowl party is not included – I think the only thing that would stop us from watching the Superbowl would be city-wide electric outages.  Whoops.  I hope I didn’t just jinx us?)

And now I think I’m going to go see if I can find my snow boots

