Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I am dearly hoping that all those superstitions about the first days of the new year being harbingers of what the rest of the year will bring are wrong.  I’m not a superstitious person in general, but man, if any of those are even a little bit true, I could be in trouble.  I spent the last few days of 2009, and the first few days of 2010 feebly creeping around the house, dazed with fever, hobbled by the need to stay within arm’s reach of the tissue box.  It was kindof miserable.  I don’t recommend it.  I didn’t even go out to any New Year’s Eve parties.  I was supposed to be at The Duchess & Mariah’s Annual New Year’s Eve Bash in order to give a beginner swing dance lesson and then DJ a little, but even that didn’t happen.  I started trying to get ready to go at 6pm (the party started at 8), and when I was still in my pj’s at 9:30 I threw in the towel.  Instead Johnsy and I watched West Wing, and then went to bed early.

I did manage to crawl out of my stupor (with the assistance of much medication) enough to help with the Big Family New Years Day Party.  I’m very grateful I had a reduced load this year. I got the Spreadable Crack made by myself, but then had to enlist the help of the Duchess andSparky to get the Chicken Parmigiana done in time.  Thankfully everything went smoothly, I didn’t pass out while breading chicken, and afterwards I got to go sit still on the couch for a while.  It was actually a very fun party.  Both Ani and Johnsy came, plus MDoS and the Beautiful T, and Captain Badger, whom I hadn’t seen in a long time.   MDoS got very silly on a thimblefull of gin (or whatever amount it was AnniPotts put in his glass), and made me laugh until I cried.  He also is now on a huge matchmaking kick.  I think that now that he’s happily hitched, he thinks everyone he loves should be too, so he’s trying to Make This So.  The problem is that MDoS wouldn’t know subtlety if it bit him on the butt, so his efforts are more comical than anything else.  I’m afraid I’m a sad disappointment to him – at the moment I don’t really have any possibilities on the radar, and can’t seem to care all that much about this.  I mean, it would be nice to be with someone, but you can’t force these things.  My life is a busy and fairly happy one as it is, and while adding a romantic relationship might be nice, I’d rather be happy and single than miserable because I’m in a relationship with the wrong man.  So, um, yeah.

Little by little I’ve been getting better.  Yesterday was the first day that I woke up without a fever, and today is my first day attempting a normal schedule.  So far I think I might have been a little over ambitious.  I did ok until lunch time, and then I almost just called in sick for the rest of the day from my lunch break.  Part of the problem is that the cold has made my asthma kick up, which combined with the bitterly cold air outside, creates a sensation like the air is instantly freezing solid at the top of my lungs.  Not very pleasant.  I have the medication to deal with it, and I did come back to work after lunch, but I think by the time I’m done here I’ll be pretty much toast for the rest of the day.

Happy New Year!

