Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Have you ever wanted to just run away from home? Not forever, no, not like “you’ll-never-see-me-again-in-this-dumpy-town” run away, but just for a little while. Go do something completely crazy and once-in-a-lifetime fun. Just get the heck out of Dodge for a little while, forget your troubles and be happy. It’s been much too long since I had a good adventure (and, no, my Adventures in Non-Braking don’t count), and I feel due for at least a little spree. Just a little something…

Yesterday I was talking to Mick online, and he asked me when we were going to go see the relics of St. Mary Magdalene I had told him about a while ago. I had forgotten all about it, but both of us researched a little, and discovered that they’re currently nearing the end of their tour in the US. We had missed the DC dates, and when they were in Brooklyn, and the one day they were nearest us in Pennsylvania. All that was left was a few days in Georgia, and then they would be heading back to France. And that was when Mick started talking road trip. “Only seven and a half hours,” he said. We could head down Sunday, venerate the relics, make a stop over in Atlanta for beer and bookstores (and possibly swing dancing), and come right back, getting back to Dayton sometime Monday. I told Mick that with the current state of my finances, I could barely afford to travel to Cincinnati, which didn’t seem to bother him. It all sounded so… possible. We agreed that it would be good to have at least one additional traveling companion, and things looked bleak when three possibilities didn’t pan out. And then AnniPotts (who is coming home for a week for Thanksgiving) said that she would be interested, but we have to work out more details. About then Mick had to run off to another commitment, and we said we’d talk more later.

To be honest, I don’t think this is going to come off. While it would be a lot of fun, it would also be totally crazy. Also, even though it was his idea in the first place, I can feel Mick turning more Responsible Adult on me by the second. I’m pretty sure that Sunday evening will find me still at home, doing laundry and catching up with Johnsy when she returns from her weekend retreat. But still… it would be so fun. An adventure. It’s been so long since I had an adventure.

I think some of this is the cabin fever talking. Now that Johnsy is recovered (hurrah!), it seems that it was my turn to get sick. I came down with a stomach flu, starting sometime Wednesday afternoon, which has kept me confined to home ever since. I’ve been literally on a bread and water diet for two days. Well, bread, water, and a little tea. This afternoon I tried a little scrambled egg. So far my stomach doesn’t seem to mind it. If the egg and my stomach continue to get along I’ll try other normal food for dinner, and if that works out, then maybe I’ll be all better. That would definitely be good – the craft fair is this weekend (come see me at Fairmont High School from 10am on!), and nothing short of the plague would keep me from doing that.

The other part is that Saturday is Jacob’s birthday. He would have been 31. My family is getting together for Mass and then a Family Dinner. As much as I know how important it is to mark the day, I’m still dreading it. If I had my way, I think I’d mark the occasion by staying in bed all day, or if I had the money, going to PittStop and dancing until I couldn’t think anymore. But neither of those things are an option.

In the end, I know things will be ok. It’s going to be a busy weekend no matter how you look at it. Setting up for the craft fair tonight, working the craft fair all day tomorrow, and then heading off to an emotionally draining family dinner in the evening. Probably by the time I get to Sunday, packing up and jumping in the car to drive to Atlanta will be the last thing I really want to do. But still. It would be nice to run away from home.

