Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I told you that I’m good with babies.

I had a really good time at dancing last night.  One of my favorite leads is home from college (all graduated and everything), and will be around for a while.  We had lots of new people, which always makes things fun.  I had a great time showing two amazing books I recently acquired to people.  I not only had Pride, Prejudice and Zombies(made of pure Win), but Movies In Fifteen Minutes by Cleolinda Jones, one of the awesomest books ever to make me giggle until my stomach hurt.  I had heard about the first book months ago, and posted a link about it on Mai’s facebook page, but I hadn’t managed to actually get my hands on a copy.  Then at my family birthday brunch, Mariah opened a large box and started handing out copies to everyone in the family.  This was a book, she said, that just had to belong to each of us.  I took it home with me, and read through it that very night.  It was wonderful.  And then about two weeks ago, The Thinker surprised me with a copy of Movies In Fifteen Minutes.  I had read Cleolinda’s awesomely amazing Twilight recaps before, but I hadn’t realized there was even more glorious snark to be had.  When The Thinker put the book in my hands I was nearly incoherent with joy.  And the book did not disappoint.  I can’t count the number of times it made me literally laugh out loud.  It is a thing of beauty, and a joy forever.  You should get your own copy.  Yes, right now.  Go!  What are you waiting for?  Just get it!

Anyway, besides the literary joy, there was also baby joy (see the picture?), and Good Lead from Far Away joy.  A guy from LA was in town for a wedding, and man, he was fun to dance with.  The girls were lining up at the side of the floor for their chance to dance with him.  No, I’m not kidding.  We really did.  And then after our dance we would congregate in little clots at the edge of the floor and squee to one another about how much fun it was, and compare how many times each of us had gotten to dance with him, and whether he asked our names afterwards, and how many times he dipped us and how low and, you know, like that.  I don’t think I’ve ever seen us be this giddy over a guy, not even when Superstars come in to town.  Of course, it doesn’t help that the last Superstar we had in town was a jerk, but still.  It was a good time.

Life in general has been pretty cool.  The garden is going like gangbusters.  This year we have lettuce mix, green onions, carrots, radishes, beets, more radishes, green beans, peas, cucumbers, peppers, and tomatoes.  Everything is coming up like crazy.  The roses are blooming in gorgeous lavishness, and the lavender is looking very picturesque with the crack in the wall and the statue of Mary.  My herb garden is doing well, though I think my sage is trying to take over the world.  No, seriously, that thing’s a monster.  I’m going to try to cut it back after it blooms.  If I can.  We’ll see.

Fun with Theology On Tap is over for a little while.  We had a good season, though it had its interesting moments, including the one last Thursday where we got heckled, and then the heckler tried to start a fight.  This is the first time in five and a half years we’ve had something like this happen.  The first we knew was when this guy (walking very carefully – I think he was drunk) walked straight up to our speaker right in the middle of the talk and asked if he could have the microphone.  Mick, sitting close to the front, said no, but that there would be Q&A time after the break.  The guy paused a moment, and then went back to his seat in the back.  Then a little later, when our speaker was talking about Confession, the guy started yelling stuff about how, Confession is an invention of the Italian Spy Agency to spy on Americans!” No, I’m not kidding.  I didn’t know whether to laugh or take him seriously.  One, who was sitting near the guy, went over to the guy to tell him that if he had questions or concerns, One would be happy to talk with him.  The guy tried to start a fight, emphatically declaring that One was “invading [his] space!” etc.  Someone went to get the waitress, who promptly ejected the guy, his friend, and the girl with them who was also trying to get a fight started.  It was exciting.  And now we have about a million new jokes about the Italian Spy Agency (who knew Italians were so organized?), and invading space.

In other news, my car is still in the shop.  We keep discovering new problems, which require tracking down parts, and in the meantime the mechanic works on other jobs, and I’m starting to wonder if I’ll ever get this car back.  I really would like to have a car again, even if it’s not perfect.  My friends (particularly Johnsy, Mick, and Hands) have been wonderful about giving me rides, but it’s not fun when just getting to the grocery store takes this much coordination of schedules.  Also, on Saturday we had a great party to wind up the end of TOT.  I got to use mynew Chinese lanterns for the first time.  They were very pretty.  I should probably also mention that everyone had a great time too, but hey, Chinese lanterns!  Also, I may possibly go to a lacrosse game on Saturday.  But that’s another blog post…

