Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

This is my little brother AP (which is short for Absentminded Professor).  He came out to my house Saturday afternoon and mowed my grass for me.  It was kinda awesome.  My parents’ electric mower made short work of the total jungle that was my yard.  I worked with him, using the weed whacker to take care of the things the mower wouldn’t reach.  After we were done, I fed him ice cream – the last of the blackberry ice cream I made last week.  Then we talked for a while.  He kept reaching over and tickling me just when I wasn’t expecting it, partly because he’s my little brother, and partly because I make really excellent noises when tickled.  It’s true.  But I don’t want this to give anyone any ideas.  I also fight back.  You’ve been warned.  After the ice cream had been consumed, and I let him know I was done being tickled, he gave me a big hug, packed up the lawn mower, and headed home.

On Sunday AP came to my rescue again.  I had been over at Mariah’s for a Mothers’ Day brunch (truly excellent omelets made to order by Boy-O), and was heading home again.  As I was waiting at a stop sign at Stout & Perry, my car (which I think is named Vanya) stalled out on me, and would not start again.  But this time was different.  Usually when the car stalls and won’t start the starter will at least crank even if the engine won’t turn over.  This time the starter wouldn’t even crank.  The dome light worked, so it wasn’t the battery.  I called my resident car expert, who told me that I would have to bite the bullet and get the car to a mechanic.  AP was already on his way to help me (the second time he’s rescued me from car distress).  I called AAA, who sent a very nice tow truck operator to pick up the car.  While I made arrangements with the tow truck operator, AP moved my stuff from my car to his, opened the door for me after I had waved good-bye to my car, took me home, and carried my stuff into the house for me.

Have I mentioned that my brother is kind of amazing?  It’s true.  Really.  I think I’m going to have to make him some more ice cream.

I heard from the mechanic this morning.  The car needs all new wires and plugs, and a valve seal, and some other things.  I don’t want to think about how much it’s going to cost to fix.  It’s a good thing I got a tax refund this year.  But I think it will be worth it just to not have to worry about it stalling out on me at every red light.  At least that’s what I’m trying to tell myself.  Sigh

