Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I really miss the dining room table.  Johnsy’s been painting the kitchen cabinets for two and a half weeks now, so half the stuff in the kitchen is in the dining room, and the stuff in the kitchen is all moved around, and, well, I miss the dining room table.  I’m also a little worried.  We’re housing people for the Smackdownthis weekend, and while I’m sure everything will be set again by then I’m not sure how it’s going to happen, or how much it will cost Johnsy to do it.  She’s been hurting a lot lately, and so far her doctor’s haven’t been able to help.  She works so hard on things, but it comes at a high cost.  I can’t stop her, but it doesn’t stop me from worrying.

I’m afraid I haven’t been much help on things.  I go from one crunch to another – papers, Midterms, sending out housing assignments for Smackdown, catching my dad’s stomach flu over the weekend, Lord knows what all.  I’ll be very glad when this spate of assignments is done, when I’m on the other side of Smackdown, and I can concentrate on other things.

At the same time, I’m very, very excited about Smackdown.  My swing kids performed their team choreography for the UD Swing Club on Monday, and I think I nearly split my face open, I was grinning so wide.  They look beautiful, and the Club loved it.  It’s such a thrill, not just seeing my kids perform, but seeing them perform something that I choreographed with Bounce, seeing them realize the things we sketched out one Tuesday night in a church basement, seeing them do it even better, stronger, and more beautifully than I ever could.  I can’t wait until they do it for the world on Saturday, and I can finally show you what I’ve been so excited about for so long.

I’m excited about Smackdown for other reasons too.  Some of my favorite dancers are coming in from all over.  I’m looking forward to the classes, though I don’t know how many I’ll be able to take   I’m looking forward to dancing until I can’t dance anymore, and then maybe dancing a few more songs.  I am tired, and I am sad, and I want to lose myself on the dance floor.  Hopefully this weekend I’ll get my chance.

