Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

So I finally went to see my Hero Doctor on Tuesday.  One of the side benefits of being back in school is that I can go to him again, which is awesome.  I’ve missed seeing him, not just because he prescribes me lovely drugs that help me breathe and think and stuff, but also because I like him and the staff at the Student Health Center.  I’ve been needing to go see my doctor, not just to pick up some prescriptions, but because I need to get my heart checked out.  See, it’s not normal for an otherwise healthy, non-smoking, active 30 year old man to keel over with a massive heart attack, unless there’s some other factor involved, usually genetic.  Up until a month ago (and it is exactly a month today), I did not have much of a family history of heart disease.  Now I do.  When we were in the hospital, all of us siblings looked at each other and said that now all of us need to get checked, cuz I don’t know if we could survive going through this a second time.

So I’m doing my part.  On Monday I’ll go to get some blood drawn to check cholesterol and a few other things.  If the test comes back high, like it probably will, I’ll have to go on medication.  My doctor says that diet and exercise can help, but given the situation he’s not going to mess around waiting for oatmeal to bring my cholesterol down.  One of the big questions right now is how I’m going to afford the cholesterol meds, but my doctor says we’ll figure something out.  He’s pretty good at that.

In other news, I really gotta start getting a little more sleep at night.  It seems like I’ve been up late pretty much every night for a while.  First it was studying for Biology, then writing a summary of Socrates’ Apology for Philosophy, then more studying for Biology (I had the Huge Biology Test of Doom on Wednesday), and then, when that was done, I went to go seeCoraline with Rosie last night (and it was totally excellent, and all of you should go see it.  Soon.)  All of this has been kindof a lot.  I’m getting pretty tired.  Unfortunately, my schedule doesn’t look like it’s going to let up much any time soon.  Tonight is CL (my Catholic young adult group), and then tomorrow night the men from my CL group have decided to cook a Valentine’s dinner for the women (and have I mentioned how amazingly cute they’re being about it?).  Saturday night is The Boilermakers at Miami U., and then Sunday is TOT planning.  Also, this is the weekend that Johnsy has decided that all the kitchen cupboards will be painted.

So, you know, my life is full.

I’m doing my best to help things be a little less full.  I know I can’t keep pushing myself like I’ve been and expect to come through it in any kind of shape.  It’s frustrating not being able to do all the things I want to do, to get tired so fast, how things take twice as long as I think they should.  I know that it won’t always be like this, that little by little I’ll get back to my old self.  However, for right now I have to be patient, take it easy on myself, accept myself the way I am.  Sadly, one of the few things I’ve identified that I can let go of for now is some of my swing teaching commitments.  So Monday and last night I talked to SD about it, and we came to an agreement, and I’m going to take a break from teaching for Swingout Dayton for a while.  Hopefully it won’t be long – maybe just until my birthday (May 1).  By that time the school semester will be over, and hopefully I’ll be in a better place.  I’ll still be teaching for UD, so it’s not like I won’t be teaching at all.  Just, you know, not so much.

Prof. Peat Quote Book:
“It’s the New Testament, or as I like to call it, The Sequel.”
(To a student coming in late) “You didn’t miss anything.  We were mostly playing canasta.”
“This would look really good on the evaluations: What I learned from the Greek philosophers is that my mom is stupid.”
“There’s a really great movie of Crime & Punishment with Gene Hackman as Raskolnikov.”
“There are logicians who like to think contradictions can be true, but we make them live in Australia for the most part.”

