Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

So it seems that I have been tagged no less than 12 times by various people in this 20/25 Things meme that’s going around.  I usually resist memes, but… 12 times is a lot.  Also, I’m having a sick day today since something cold-like sandbagged me in the knees yesterday about 3pm (that’s about when my throat began to really hurt) and then proceeded to take advantage of my weakened state to cause havoc and mayhem for the rest of the day (possible fever, dizziness, loss of appetite, etc.).  I’m feeling some better today, but not so well that I want to push things, so I think I’m going to stay in today as much as possible.  And since Johnsy and I finished watching the first disc of The West WingSeason One last night, and will have to wait a while for Netflix to send us another, this could be kind of boring.  I might have to resort to, like, actually doing homework.  Or, you know, answering memes.

So here are the Official Rules: “Once you’ve been tagged, you are supposed to write a note with 25 random things, facts, habits, or goals about you. At the end, choose 25 people to be tagged. You have to tag the person who tagged you. If I tagged you, it’s because I want to know more about you.”  There’s also some stuff about how to tag people on facebook which I’m going to leave off here because, guess what?  This isn’t a facebook blog (even though it does get imported there).  Also, I like to respect people’s free will.  So if you would like to do this meme, consider yourself tagged.  If you don’t want to do this meme, well then, you know what to do.  When it does get imported into facebook I will tag the people who tagged me, but just so they know that I did one too.  And now for the randomness:

  1. I still have my Christmas decorations up.  Of course, this mostly consists of the manger scene on the coffee table, the Advent wreath behind it, the manger scene on the top of the Johnsy’s organ, and the little one in fhe dining room, but still.  If I’m having people over for the Superbowl this weekend I should maybe put them away…
  2. I can’t eat things with a lot of added sugar in them.  Well, really any added sugar.  It just does bad things to me.
  3. I sneeze really loudly.  On one occasion I sneezed so loud that my sister, in her town house a block away from my parents’ house, could hear me through her back window.
  4. I still have the plastic bat and wiffle ball in my trunk that we used to play Dayton Street Cricket in the parking lot behind Panera back in the Glory Days of CL.
  5. I also always have at least one kite in the trunk of my car.  I don’t often get to go kite flying, but I love it so much that I want to be ready if I get the chance.
  6. When I am getting sick, the comfort food I want is diet 7-up or Sprite, and pretzels, preferably the hard sourdough ones.  That was what Mom gave us kids when we were sick.
  7. I got Johnsy addicted to West Wing.  
  8. I’ve been watching Firefly some.  I like the show pretty well, but so far I haven’t totally fallen in love with it like a lot of my friends seem to have done.  I worry that maybe this means I’m not as geeky as I think I am.
  9. When I like a book I read it over and over.  I have one friend who only reads books once, no matter how much he liked it.  I think this is weird.
  10. I write really, really good letters.  Unfortunately, the main time when I write letters is when I’m bored in class, so I haven’t written many letters for quite a while.  I think this is now changing.
  11. The bed I sleep in belonged to my great-great-grandparents.
  12. My grandmother had a trousseau.  I know this because one day when I was going through my mom’s tablecloths I found a packet labeled in my grandfather’s distinctive handwriting, “From Angie’s (his wife’s) trousseau.”
  13. Hot Josh & Pixie Girl just had their first baby, the most beautiful baby girl!  Both mother and baby are doing just fine.
  14. Last night I had to rip out the sweater I’ve been working on for Johnsy.  It seems that the online store I got the yarn from included one ball from a different dye lot than the rest.  There was this very distinct color change where I’d joined the second ball.  The really tragic part is that, since the yarn is so fine, even though I’d only done maybe eight inches, that represented over 24 hours of knitting time.  Still, I’d rather start over from scratch than put even more time into knitting something that Johnsy wouldn’t want to wear, and would feel guilty for not wearing, etc.  Sigh.
  15. I really want a pair of size 3 wooden/bamboo double-pointed knitting needles.  I want them for a special project I want to do for one of my sisters.  I even have a gift certificate to Michaels that I could use to buy them.  Unfortunately, Michaels never seems to have them in stock.
  16. I always write “afterwards” instead of “afterward.”  And then the spell check yells at me.  But I don’t care.
  17. I don’t think I’m ever going to say that I came from a family of 10 kids, or that I have 3 brothers.  I come from a family of 11 kids, and I have 4 brothers.  So what if one of them is dead?  He’s still my brother.
  18. I really stink at chess.  One time I was teaching a friend of mine how to play.  She beat me on that first, practice game.
  19. I really, really like Gossip Girl.  It is my secret shame (well, maybe not so secret now).  Johnsy tapes it for me on Monday nights.  One of the ways I know I’ve been crazy busy is that so far there are three weeks on tape that I haven’t found the time to watch.
  20. I infinitely prefer Chicago Style annotation over MLA.
  21. Whatever happens, my default reaction to almost anything is usually to laugh.
  22. Fenimore Cooper’s Literary Offences by Mark Twain is one of the funniest things I’ve ever read.
  23. I think the reproductive cycle of the pine tree is kinda sexy.
  24. I use the word “really” too much.
  25. Last night I was watching the film of the London revival of Oklahoma!, starring Hugh Jackman as Curly.  At the end, when I was watching the final, climactic fight between Jud & Curly, I thought, “Wow.  You’ve got to have some kind of guts to take on Wolverine.”  And then I wanted to tell that to Jacob, and then I was weepy for a while because I couldn’t.

Whew!  Good grief, that took forever.  Coming up with 25 random things is really a lot.  Let’s not do any more memes for a while, ok?

