Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

It just feels wrong to be at work today.  It’s like all of us here have had a collective memory lapse, forgetting what day it is.  Any moment we’re all going to go, “D’oh!” and slap our heads.  Then we’ll all shut down our computers, put on our coats, turn out the lights, and head home, hoping that no one else noticed our mistake.  Any minute now.  Really.

This is what I would be doing if I were at home: cutting up beef for Boeuf Bourguignon.  It’s a rich stew of beef marinated in red wine with onions and herbs.  The next day you brown the meat lovingly all over, and cook it in wine and broth with garlic and more herbs until it is so tender it is falling apart.  You add some mushrooms and some little pearl onions you’ve browned, and let it cook a little longer.  When it’s done you have a richly flavored pot of awesomeness that will make those blessed enough to eat it ask for more and more until every last drop of the sauce has been scooped, scraped, or sopped up with any available bread crust or finger.  No, really.  It’s true.  I’ve seen it happen.

This is what I’m making for our Family New Years Day Party, our annual bash my family throws for about 40 carefully selected guests (we vote every year, and although anyone can be nominated, you pretty much have to have unanimous family approval to make the list).  It’s a change of pace – usually we roast a couple of geese or make Duckling a l’Orange, but this year we decided to simplify a little.  The added beauty of Boeuf Bourguignon is that, get this, it tastes even better the next day.  Very few people get to discover this since it’s usually gone too soon, but it’s true.  So I’m planning to make it ahead and reheat it on the day of the party.  I have the meat in my refrigerator, the wine on my counter, and the onions just waiting to be cut up.  All I have to do is trim the meat and get it marinating and we’ll be in business.  But I’m at work instead.  Sigh.

Though really, who am I kidding?  I’d go home all intending to start cooking, but then I’d get distracted by one thing, and then another, and before I knew it I’d be on the couch watching 30 Rock reruns and knitting.  Which is, honestly, also not a bad way to spend a winter afternoon.  I still have Bubba’s Christmas Socks to finish, though I managed to get the 2nd finished to about 1/2 inch above the heel through heroic knitting (and movie watching) Friday night.  And then there’s Johnsy’s sweater, and the Duchess’s wrap.  Though I can tell that I’m getting kinda bored with my Christmas knitting projects.  I spent the afternoon browsing knitting patterns and daydreaming about knitting myself little lacy hand warmers, or fingerless mitts, or maybe some excessively cute legwarmers.  It’s been a while since I knitted anything for myself.  I’m starting to feel about due.

And just because I’m bored and a little tired, and wanting to be somewhere else, I will leave you with this video.  I just heard this song a few days ago, and it makes me giggle every time.  Also, I want a peach corset.  Or maybe a sky blue one.

