Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

So a while back Spirit tagged me in this meme where you’re supposed to list 16 things about yourself.  And then someone else tagged me in one of those memes where you’re supposed to put all the songs on your mp3 player on random and then see what comes up when you hit the Next button.  So I thought I’d combine the two things into one list of 16 things, plus whatever songs come up with them.  Should be interesting.  Here goes:

1.  I am actually typing this blog entry from my kitchen table.  What, you may ask, are you doing at home in the middle of the day on a Monday?  Well, today just happens to be the Feast of the Immaculate Conception, the day on which Catholics celebrate their belief that Mary was conceived free from original sin.  This is a Holy Day of Obligation for Catholics, meaning that we’re all obliged to go to Mass.  Also, my Catholic university gives it as a day off, which makes me happy, except I’m not getting paid for a day I can’t work, which makes me a little sad.  However, it also means that I got to sleep in a little late today, and spend the morning sitting in the kitchen in my pj’s picking swinging Christmas songs to play tonight.  So that’s happy.
Song: And It Stoned Me by Van Morrison

2.  Speaking of work, I am looking for a new job.  I really like the job I have, but it’s technically a student job.  It’s going to take long enough to straighten out my financial aid mess that it would be pushing things too far to keep it.    Plus, it’s officially part time (meaning no benefits), even though I happen to be working full time hours.  So I need to find another job, preferably a full time one with benefits, hopefully still at UD.  Then after I’d worked a while I’d get tuition reimbursement, and would be able to finish my degree no matter what happens with my financial aide.  There’s a couple of jobs I’m going for, so if you could say a prayer, that would be cool (and a big thank you to Spike’s Girlfriend for watching out for me!).
Song: Tennessee Waltz by Norah Jones

3.  My favorite sweater to wear over my jammies while I lounge around the house is a thick, black cotton cardigan covered with cables.  It also has a fraying hole about the size of a silver dollar on the right shoulder.  I could repair the hole, but I won’t because it is a souvenir of the time I set myself on fire.  See, I was cooking dinner back at my parents’ house, where they have an old gas stove that sometimes has to be lit with matches.  I was doing this, and I let the match burn down too close to my fingertips.  I shook it out so violently that the match flew out of my fingers.  I thought it had landed on the metal stove top, so I didn’t think anything more about it, and started working on other things.  After a little while I smelled something burning.  I checked all the burners on the stove.  Everything was ok.  I opened the oven just to make sure nothing was in there.  It was fine too.  I checked the burners again.  then I happened to look over at my shoulder and saw flames.  It seems that the match hadn’t landed on the stove at all, but had flung itself up onto my shoulder, where it lit my sweater on fire.  When I saw this I grabbed a pot holder and batted it out.  The awesome thing is that the sweater is so lovely and thick that I was not harmed at all.  In fact, the white shirt I had on underneath the sweater wasn’t even scorched.  How cool is that?
Song: There Were Shepherds Abiding In The Field (from The Messiah) by the London Philharmonic Orchestra

4.  I still like cooking on gas stoves much better than cooking on electric stoves.
Song: Ridin’ and Jivin’ by Earl Hines and His Orchestra

5. Sometimes I think it would be really fun to start my own food blog.  I mean, I’m a really good writer and a really good cook.  It would be a blog for all those people out there who would like to have tasty food on a budget, the people who don’t have the money to run down to the organic market and buy the latest artisanal organic squash to lovingly prepare and top with butter made from milk from local cows, those of us who shop at Aldi’s, not Dorothy Lane.  But then I remember that my digital camera (well, the one I have on long-term loan from my mom) really sucks (the only pictures it takes well are extreme close-ups), and I never would remember to take pictures of my food while I’m cooking it anyway, and it would be a lot of work.  And then I drop the idea.  But who knows?  Maybe one of these days I’ll actually do it.
Song: Take Me To The River by Eva Cassidy

6.  I still haven’t had a good pomegranate this year.  I’m going to have to correct that.
Song: The Three Sunrises by U2

7.  If I could live anywhere, I think I would want to live in northern California.  I spent some time there with my 1st NET Team a while back.  Granted it was in January when the rest of the world was covered with snow and ice while California was miraculously warm and mild.But I remember the olive trees and walnut groves, and the box of mandarin oranges one of our host moms packed for us before we left town – the mountain of sweet fruit with leaves still attached.  I loved it.  I especially remember one evening walking around an herb garden.  There was this huge bush in the middle of one of the beds.  It took me a while to recognize it as sage.  Back home here in Ohio sage almost never grows more than knee high, and that would be considered a monster sage plant.This sage bush was taller than me.I couldn’t get over it, and even now it seems a little surreal.  I think that was when I fell in love with northern California.
Song: Skylark (live) by Ernestine Anderson

8.If I ever make it over to Europe, I’d rather see Vienna than Paris.Everybody wants to see Paris, but Vienna sounds much more interesting to me.  It’s the gateway to exotic Eastern Europe.It has the Ringstrasse, and Sachertorte, the Lipizzaner stallions and Viennese waltzes.  Sure Paris has the Louvre, the bridges, the Notre Dame and little bakeries selling fabulously good bread.  But Vienna has its famous coffee houses and biergartens and composers, and, well, I don’t know what else.  But I want to go there.
Song: Stars by Switchfoot

9.  Out of eleven kids in my family, only two of us haven’t been off this continent: myself and the baby who’s still in high school.  I think this is very unfair.
Song: Ghetto by Leela James

10.  Did I mention that there are eleven kids in my family?
Song: Shake Yourself Loose by Vickie Winans

11.  They say the way to a guy’s heart is through his stomach.  The way to my heart is through my funny bone.
Song: Fiddler’s Green by Fannigan’s Isle

12.  My favorite Christmas song is I Want A Hippopotamus For Christmas.  I don’t know who it’s by, but I love it.  I can sing all the words, and will.  You’ve been warned.
Song: Hold, Monsters!  from Pirates of Penzance by Gilbert & Sullivan

13.  I would give just about anything to be going to Swing & Soul this coming weekend.  Really.  I wanted to go so bad, but I couldn’t make the money work.  Sigh.  And the way things are going, I don’t think I’m going to make Boston Tea Party either.  I can’t tell you how sad that is.  But if I can’t make either one of those, I have to make All Bal Weekend. If I can’t do that, I think it just might kill me.
Song: Gaston from Beauty and the Beast by Disney

14.  When I go on road trips with WG and Godiva we always end up singing along to Disney musicals.  I always have to sing Ariel’s aria because I’m the only one who can hit all of the notes.  No, I’m not smug about that.  What makes you ask?
Song: Chicago by Mugsy Spanier

15.  I really don’t like doing dishes.  The reason I started learning how to cook as a child was because in my family if you cook you don’t have to do dishes.  The one exception to this rule is if you have a group of people doing dishes together, and it’s the right group of people.  Then it isn’t washing dishes, it’s fun, and I like it.
Song: I Love Being Here With You by Ernestine Anderson

16.  I do like doing laundry.  There’s something satisfying about cycling the dirty clothes through and pulling them out of the dryer at the end all warm and clean and fluffy.  Then you fold them into neat shapes, all smooth and happy and ready to be snugly stowed away in drawers and shelves until you need them again.  Except I never seem to get to that part.  I have piles of clean laundry stacked around my room waiting for me to put them away.  Some of them are still there from the time before the time before I last did laundry.  It’s kind of awful.
Song: Feel Good, Inc. by Gorillaz

And that’s that.  Hmmm.  Interesting list.  It wasn’t nearly as hard to think of things as I thought it would be.  I’m not formally tagging people, though.  I’m going to respect your free will.  If you like things like this, consider yourself tagged.  If not, well, you don’t have me to blame.

