Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Thank God for coffee.  Sometimes I think it’s the only thing standing between me and brain death.  No, really.  Don’t pretend you don’t know what I’m talking about.  It’s those mornings when the light seems to assault your eyes, and your brain feels like a big pool of melting Jell-O sloshing between your ears, just waiting its chance to start dribbling out of your head.  (I just got a bad image of liquid Jello-O running down the sides of my face and staining my shirt.  Ok.  I’ll stop now.)  And then there comes coffee, the Hero Of The Day, hitting your stomach like a shot of instant intelligence!  Before you know it, it’s raced through your whole body.  Synapses start firing.  Reflexes start kicking in.  And your brain solidifies into the competent mass of grey tissue you always knew it could be.  All thanks to coffee, the Miracle Drink.  My uncle has a t-shirt with a quote from Ben Franklin that says, “Beer is proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy.” I think the shirt should really be about coffee, except maybe it should say, “Coffee is proof that God loves us and wants us to be able to think rationally.” Now that would be a cool t-shirt.  You can’t deny it.  Even Thomas Aquinas would wear that shirt.  Really.

In other news, at UD Swing Club on Monday we split the group up for the first time.  I took the ones who had just started dancing over to one end of the room and Bounce took the ones who were there for a second year to the other side, and we taught them seperately.  Of course, the Beginners outnumber the 2nd Years something like 3:1, so I was teaching a class of about 40-50 kids pretty much by myself.  Punch was my demonstration partner – his first time doing something like this.  All in all things went pretty well.  There were some rough spots, and we’re going to have to do some more intensive work before it’s Punch’s turn to help me again, but things definitely met my Minimum Standard of Lindy Success: no death, no blood, and nobody in tears.  The kids re-learned their Lindy basic, and by the end of the class were successfully transitioning from Lindy Hop to East Coast and back again.  It was pretty cool.

It also completely wore me out.  Think about the energy it takes to get forty people to do the same thing (something new that they’re not comfortable doing) at the same time, in time to music, make it fun, and keep them interested.  That’s a lot.  It’s a lot even when you’re doing this with another experienced teacher who can share the load.  When you’re doing it on your own?  Let’s just say that as soon as I got home I dropped my bag off by the door, collapsed on the couch and just didn’t move for quite a while.  This experience makes me even more impressed with the Big Name Instructors who do this for hours at a time over whole weekends, with even larger classes, teaching even more complex stuff.  Never mind how good a dancer they are, that’s impressive.

Other than that, there hasn’t been a whole lot going on.  I am rather impressed with myself for mastering the art of knitting on double-pointed needles.  That’s when you’re knitting something round, and split the stitches up onto three or four needles so that they make a circle.  You’re only actually knitting with two needles at a time, just like you always do, but the sight of all the extra needles stuck through your work looks awfully impressive.  I was showing my new skillz off to The Shy Engineer, who told me I had just discovered the Fifth Dimension It was pretty awesome.

