Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

So I’m sitting here at work typing nametags for the Big Company Picnic, and the Boilermaker’s version of “I’m Putting All My Eggs In One Basket” keeps going through my head.  (I’ve got a great big amount saved up in my love account, and I’ve decided that love divided in two… won’t do!)  That doesn’t really relate to anything in my life, though I do think love is the sort of thing that shouldn’t be saved up.  You should love as hard as you can when you can, and rather than running out of love, you discover that your capacity for love grows and grows until you can’t reach the end of it.  Of course, I’m not discriminating here between the different kinds of love.  Love is love, and it’s all good.  The problems come in when people try to love in ways that are ultimately unloving through being misguided or dysfunctional or whatever.  This is maybe a little deep for such a cute little song (and it really is a good song, and maybe I’ll dance to it tonight), but my brain works in strange and mysterious ways, and now you know.

I’m going out of town this weekend.  John John is getting married, and I’m going up to be a witness to this Solemn Event.  It looks like I’ll be driving up on Friday with ‘Sup Doc and Ducky.  They’re going to a different wedding in Madison this weekend, and Chicago is sortof on their way so they’re being good enough to carpool.  My wedding sounds like it’s going to be fun.  It’s really small – only family and close friends – and the reception is going to be at the bride’s father’s pub, which is across the street from our hotel.  It’s been a while since I’ve seen some of my friends who will be there – several years for some – so I’m really looking forward to this.

In other news, I’m really getting into this knitting thing.  I finished one thing already (a practice swatch using up a little bit of the enormous amount of yarn KJ left with me), and have cast on two others.  I’ve got a couple inches of a cabled scarf done (my adventure in making cables on both sides of the fabric), and am starting a neck warmer in pale pink alpaca.  I really, really want to get started on this shrug, but I keep not having quite enough yarn.  I have 1000 yards of two kinds of absolutely gorgeous yarn, which you would think would be enough to make just abuot anything, but I think the pattern probably requires closer to 1500 yards.  Sigh.  This is when knitting gets expensive…

